Brown Sugar Bacon Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEmRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osage Beach, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
What a great twist on waffles.These are actually belgian waffles and they puff up A LOT! I'd recommend using a belgian waffle maker. I used a regular waffle iron and had to be sure not to shut it all the way or the batter would spill out,even with less batter used. I found that if I held it almost shut, but not completely, that the batter fluffs up so much it'll still reach the top of the iron to cook. You can also freeze leftovers in sealable bags. Just stick them in the oven at 250 degrees just til warmed. Great recipe! I even made extra bacon and ate it alone! If you're looking for a strong bacon flavor I suggest using more than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
yummy! I used a bisquick shortcut, but they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
WinCo had bacon on sale this week so this was a fun new way for me to use it in something homemade. These turned out absolutely perfect. i used whole wheat white flour but other than that, I made no other changes. HUGE hit. HUGE. My husband and kids ate every single one. For me, next time I'd use a better quality bacon. I used a cheap bacon and the results weren't as great as I'd hoped. My family didn't care--I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
These were so awesome, I loooovve them! I followed the recipe ingredients exactly and these came out from my Belgian waffle maker beautiful, flavorful and fluffy. They are airy but at the same time very filling, very good with dark maple syrup. I also followed the directions as written, except for one thing (which was a big mistake!): I decided it would be a good idea to place the bacon on a paper towel to drain, like I would when I normally cook bacon. DO NOT do this!! I didn't think about it ahead of time, but the caramelized sugar cooled onto the paper towel, which made it adhere to the bacon... cue me spending 10 minutes delicately peeling paper towel bits from my precious bacon! Anyway, these waffles are great and I even liked them leftover, cold straight from the fridge, with no syrup. I really recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I saw this and had to try it out! I decided to go the easy route and use Bisquick with the added brown sugar, vanilla and brown sugar-baked bacon. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. SassyRoo
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made half a batch, and substituted 1/2 cup of corn meal in place of flour. My Husband LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. SassyRoo

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salinas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This waffle recipe would be great even without the bacon! Using a sweet bacon only enhances the flavor. Cinnamon is a great addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used more bacon - maybe 16 slices - and I got 10 1/2 Belgian-sized waffles out of the batch by using a 1/2 c measuring cup to pour out the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
These were good and my family enjoyed them. I only wish they had more of a bacon flavor. The inly change I made was to add the bacon grease to the oil. In the future, I would use more bacon. Can there ever be too much bacon anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States