Brown Sugar and Spice Dry Ham Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
We really enjoyed this rub. It was just what I was looking for! I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I just used equal parts of cinnamon & nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Fabulous. Just fabulous. This really made my once-a-year ham really shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Very good!!!!! I will def do this again. I did it with a spiral ham this time, but next time, I will do a whole (bone in) ham. The spiral ham dries up without foil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Fantastic! We smoked a precooked ham for 3 hrs @230 degrees. I first smothered the ham in regular yellow mustard. Then I used this rub over the entire ham and massaged it in. At the 2 1/2 hr mark I mixed up honey & BBQ sauce and put it all over the ham. It looked and tasted awesome! The entire family loved it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Made it for Christmas. The left overs stayed moist for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was enough for my 8.5 lb. fully cooked shank ham. Didn't have pie spice, so used 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. Only used 1/2 tsp. ground mustard. Scored it and rubbed it all over the ham, then put it in my Lisk roaster covered and forgot it for 2 hours. It came out moist and delishious. The juice in the bottom of the pan was great on baked sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a very good rub!!! I made this, then kept all the juice, sliced the ham, and then put it in the juice to keep it juicy and have all that rub in the juice get all over the meat. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sek_gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This rub was phenomenal!! We used it on a 10 pound bone in spiral cut ham that we cooked for Christmas in the smoker...what a great flavor!! it is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I will never cook ham another way again. This was so good. It was a good the Heavenly Ham that my Mother in Law buy every year at Christmas time. I used a smoked ham and cooked it in my crock pot for about 6 hours. It turned out soft an juicy. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I substituted 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States