Brown Sugar and Spice Dry Ham Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I didn't have any dry mustard so I used about a tbs.(maybe more)of dijon mustard instead. It made more of a paste that I rubbed on the ham. Loved this, will be using this recipe from now on. I'll be sure to pick up dry mustard to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I tried this on my Christmas ham and it was delicious! I didn't have dry mustard so I simply omitted it and it was still really good. I purchased a sliced ham, but the rub in between each slice and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I don't want to "mess with" the ratings for this particular recipe as is, but I do have some feedback that I think may help others trying this recipe in the future. I, like many users of allrecipes.com, read a recipe, read some (if not all) of the reviews to get ideas on how to tweak the recipe, and then just go for it! In this case I was working with not having the pumpkin pie spice or all the ingredients to make my own. So I took the advice of another reviewer and tried garam masala in place of the pie spice. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and basted the ham with a basic yellow mustard before putting the rub on (in other words "under" the rub). I also followed the additional cooking recommendations that the recipe's author added under the reviews to kind of crisp the outside of the ham and seal in the juices before the low temperature cooking (cook on 550 degrees for first 20 minutes) instead of having to cover the ham. The results: 1) DON'T ATTEMPT THIS IF YOU DO NOT HAVE AN OVERHEAD FAN FOR YOUR RANGE (LOL, we are in a rental cottage and quickly discovered how loud the smoke detector is! I'm glad it works!) 2) With that adventure behind me and the ham finished cooking, I am happy to say that the flavor of the outer/encrusted pieces of ham were FANTASTIC! We were fighting over who got those pieces! Thanks for a fun and delicious cooking adventure and good luck to you other adventurers out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I'm so glad that everyone has enjoyed this rub! I just wanted to add a quick note. When I make my ham with this rub, I preheat the oven to 550. I cook the rubbed ham uncovered at 550 for about 20 minutes. I then turn it down to 300 or so (whatever the ham directions call for) and cook it for the length of time called for on the directions. This makes the rub crust nicely and helps seal in the juices. I've used this method with all types of hams and never had dryness issues :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
We used this rub on our Easter Ham this year and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Wow-this was delicious! I usually buy the sprial sliced ham but this year opted for the whole half ham because it was so much cheaper. I used this rub and was amazed with the results. I covered my ham with foil and it came out just perfect. All of my Easter guests loved the ham. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI8878

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is such a wonderful and easy dry rub! Tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I used this rub and baked a full spiral cut ham in a cooking bag. I was a little concerned that the bag would prevent it from forming a nice crust on the outside of the ham, but it didn't. It was fabulous. Definitely keeping this recipe for next time! The ham was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was my first time cooking a spiral ham, and instead of using the glaze that came with it, I used this rub. It was enough to cover my 10lb ham, including putting some of the rub between all the slices. I'd been told spiral sliced hams can dry out easily, but after 2 1/2hrs, the slices were so tender & delicious! My whole family was impressed; fabulous (and SO easy) for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillmichelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Ok, I admit up front- I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice, so i had to substitute. In this case, I used Garam Masala in place of it. I had a very large ham, 12lbs, so I made half-again the amount called for, using 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, 3 tsp. Garam Masala, 3/4 tsp mustard powder, and I skipped the onion powder, since I didn't have any of that either. The dry rub smelled and tasted wonderful, and the ham came out moist and super flavorful, with a crust from the rub. It was fantastic, and a huge hit with my family! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States