Brown Sugar and Spice Dry Ham Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sydneysider
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Used this rub on a 5kg sugar-cured smoked ham on the bone. Scored the fat into diamonds, rubbed in the mix, then studded with whole cloves. Baked at 180 degrees Celsius for 50 minutes, basting every 10 minutes with the juices from the ham. I made my own pumpkin spice from a recipe from this site, but due to allergies I subbed pimento (allspice) for cinnamon and omitted onion. Absolutely delicious - thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I will never cook ham another way again. This was so good. It was a good the Heavenly Ham that my Mother in Law buy every year at Christmas time. I used a smoked ham and cooked it in my crock pot for about 6 hours. It turned out soft an juicy. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I substituted 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was easy and delicious on our spiral-cut half ham! I'll probably use this every time we do a ham. Thanks for the recipe!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Ok, I admit up front- I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice, so i had to substitute. In this case, I used Garam Masala in place of it. I had a very large ham, 12lbs, so I made half-again the amount called for, using 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, 3 tsp. Garam Masala, 3/4 tsp mustard powder, and I skipped the onion powder, since I didn't have any of that either. The dry rub smelled and tasted wonderful, and the ham came out moist and super flavorful, with a crust from the rub. It was fantastic, and a huge hit with my family! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was my first time cooking a spiral ham, and instead of using the glaze that came with it, I used this rub. It was enough to cover my 10lb ham, including putting some of the rub between all the slices. I'd been told spiral sliced hams can dry out easily, but after 2 1/2hrs, the slices were so tender & delicious! My whole family was impressed; fabulous (and SO easy) for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillmichelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I used this rub and baked a full spiral cut ham in a cooking bag. I was a little concerned that the bag would prevent it from forming a nice crust on the outside of the ham, but it didn't. It was fabulous. Definitely keeping this recipe for next time! The ham was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is such a wonderful and easy dry rub! Tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Wow-this was delicious! I usually buy the sprial sliced ham but this year opted for the whole half ham because it was so much cheaper. I used this rub and was amazed with the results. I covered my ham with foil and it came out just perfect. All of my Easter guests loved the ham. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI8878

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
We used this rub on our Easter Ham this year and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I'm so glad that everyone has enjoyed this rub! I just wanted to add a quick note. When I make my ham with this rub, I preheat the oven to 550. I cook the rubbed ham uncovered at 550 for about 20 minutes. I then turn it down to 300 or so (whatever the ham directions call for) and cook it for the length of time called for on the directions. This makes the rub crust nicely and helps seal in the juices. I've used this method with all types of hams and never had dryness issues :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States