Brown Sugar and Spice Dry Ham Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Absolutely the best rub for a spiral ham I've ever tasted! This recipe was plenty for me to cover an 8.5 lb. ham. The pumpkin pie spice gave this great flavor! Thanks for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jeff Meyer
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Worked great as a dry rub for smoking a precooked ham. I used a 12lb bone in ham. As a result I had to make about 3x the amount of rub as the recipie showed. I'm glad I did because I used it all! The ham I chose was not spiral cut so I cut some scores in the meat to allow it so soak up the rub. I then smoked the ham for about 5hrs at 220F on the center rack of my smoker. I used a water pan to keep the ham moist and Hickory chips for smoke. The family absolutely went crazy for it! I'll definitely in charge of the ham from now on...be that a warning to ye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Sweet, crispy, perfection! There was more than enough rub for my 10 pound half ham. This is definitely going in my permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Very good!! You can even cut the sugar in 1/2 and it's still good as a seasoning for smoked ham :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
My husband loved this rub, my kids also are fans of this recipe. My advice is to turn up the heat about 400-450, otherwise it is way to hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Awesome, awesome rub! I, too, was short of pumpkin pie spice so I combine cinnamon and nutmeg in equal parts and ground cloves and allspice in a dash. This coated my 10 lb ham heavily and, as it cooked, the rub and the juices of the ham combined to form a heavenly sauce that I skimmed the fat off of and served on the side with the ham and mashed potatoes. Will definitely use this rub the next time I do ham!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe is absolutely THE BEST! We loved it! Used a spiral sliced ham. I coated it with the rub thickly then placed it face down on a rack in shallow roasting pan. Never covered it and it was wonderful and not dry very much like the famous ham stores, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
It was good but I didn't experience the "crust" as others have, even following the 550, down to 325 as directed. I probably wouldn't make it again, as I prefer more of a fruity sweetness. I'm finding it hard to use this ham in leftovers because of the distinct brown sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Cooked at 550 for 20 minutes, then covered and cooked the remaining time as per package. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I didn't have any dry mustard so I used about a tbs.(maybe more)of dijon mustard instead. It made more of a paste that I rubbed on the ham. Loved this, will be using this recipe from now on. I'll be sure to pick up dry mustard to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States