Brown Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
yummy, went great with refried beans and shredded beef enchiladas. I didnt modify it in any way,leftovers went to work with my better half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianMcCo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was Very Good! I did not change the recipe. I will use this recipe from now on when I want Spanish Rice. Thank you for this great side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Being latina I love my Mexican rice! I have trying to make it using brown rice and always came out no bueno. This is on point! Next time I may add olives and hot rotel!! Love this!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabi Esparza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a great low cal alternative to Mexican rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was great for a base recipe and very similar to my white rice version. I followed the instructions the first time and it seemed a little bland. Next time, I will combine my two recipes and add 1 t. chili powder, 1 t. cumin, and a little more salt (approx. 1/2 t.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I thought this was a great quick base recipe. I made it as specified, but used a can of diced tomatoes with habaneros. After I tasted the finished product, I added a bit more salt, a bit of hot sauce, and some garlic and onion powder and a couple sprays of faux butter spray to keep it moist and it was a nice accompaniment to our tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made this recipe yesterday, but I had to double it because I make a weeks worth of meals ahead of time. So yummy! That being said, after an hour of simmering the rice, it still had a hint of crunch to it but the chicken broth was all evaporated/soaked up. Next time I will try adding about 4 more ounces of broth and simmering a bit longer. Really love the flavor though! And that the recipe uses brown rice - finally!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Wanted to use brown rice to make a Mexican side dish so started with this. I only had plain canned tomatoes so sautéed a jalepeno and garlic clove before adding them and chicken stock. I also added a teaspoon of cumin and a teaspoon of good chili powder to kick it up a notch ~ delicious! Thanks for a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
decent, easy and quick but not fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was very good! I only had boil a bag brown rice, so I had to use that. I just boiled it in water like the box said to, then I brought the can of diced tomatoes (mine had jalapenos instead of green chiles) almost to a boil with some diced onion and green pepper ( I always add that to my spanish or mexican rice) and then added the bag of rice. Turned out delish! Will be making this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States