Brown Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made this recipe yesterday, but I had to double it because I make a weeks worth of meals ahead of time. So yummy! That being said, after an hour of simmering the rice, it still had a hint of crunch to it but the chicken broth was all evaporated/soaked up. Next time I will try adding about 4 more ounces of broth and simmering a bit longer. Really love the flavor though! And that the recipe uses brown rice - finally!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a great low cal alternative to authentic Mexican rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Wanted to use brown rice to make a Mexican side dish so started with this. I only had plain canned tomatoes so sautéed a jalepeno and garlic clove before adding them and chicken stock. I also added a teaspoon of cumin and a teaspoon of good chili powder to kick it up a notch ~ delicious! Thanks for a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
i did exactly what it says. i burnt my freaking pan. like does brown rice not need water? of course it does! even with 5 cups it still doesnt taste done! good thing i know how to really make spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmin Rocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Being latina I love my Mexican rice! I have trying to make it using brown rice and always came out no bueno. This is on point! Next time I may add olives and hot rotel!! Love this!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabi Esparza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a nice easy recipe to follow. But next time I will reduce the 1 teas. salt to 1/2 teas. and see if that helps. Otherwise it would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was Very Good! I did not change the recipe. I will use this recipe from now on when I want Spanish Rice. Thank you for this great side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Good recipe- I make this all the time with the "Refried beans without the refry" recipe from this site and roll up and freeze a bunch of burritos- good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was great for a base recipe and very similar to my white rice version. I followed the instructions the first time and it seemed a little bland. Next time, I will combine my two recipes and add 1 t. chili powder, 1 t. cumin, and a little more salt (approx. 1/2 t.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
decent, easy and quick but not fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States