Brown Rim Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
An okay cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These cookies were pretty good---maybe not very sweet. It's been a long time since I've made anything with shortening, and I'm not used to that aftertaste that comes with it. I appreciate that your family loves this tradition. What can be better than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I put in double the amount of vanilla, make a thumb print into the middle of each cookie, fill with jam or Nutella (a hazelnut spread) and seal the top with a little dough. Caution...make sure cookie is completely cooled down before biting into. This basic recipe is so versatile that it is good as a stand alone recipe or can be tweaked to taste!!! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Hughson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Thank you for this recipe. My mom made these for me when I was a little girl. She wasn't much of a cook or baker but she did a good job on these. She is now 94 and is not feeling well. I asked her if she remembered the cookies and she said yes. So I figured I would check with all recipes and see if anyone had the recipe. I want to thank you again. I will make them for her and this will bring back lots of memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Great basic recipe! I added a tablespoon of cinnamon sugar, and these tasted just like scottish shortbread! Great taste, slightly sweet/salty flavor! Thanks for a great recipe Sandi! Have to add that all 30 I made (halved the recipe) are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I was pretty worried when I saw the lumps in the oven that were just cooking in their own butter and didn't seem to be getting any more cooked! But when I took them out and let them sit for a couple of minutes, they turned a wonderful golden color. They've also got a very simple taste - a nice, light buttery one. Still, very nice! By the way - you don't need to worry about spacing on the cookie sheet, these don't really expand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
These cookies are okay, not wonderful. I added a little bit more sugar than what it called for and also added some nutmeg to give them more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This is a pretty average sugar cookie recipe. The cookies are pretty soft out of the oven, but get fairly flaky and crispy after they cool completely. My 20 month old son loved them- they didn't fall apart when he munched on them. Not quite what I was looking for, but not bad. Easy for a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Simple, fast.. as others say, a shortbread taste almost. (I added that hint of ginger myself, thanks) Wonderful warm fresh sugar cookie to go with milk, perfect for a feel good treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Easy and fast and a good opportunity to use that butter-flavor crisco. Pretty much like a shortbread. For my own touch, I added a pinch of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States