Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Simple delicious rice. Too much basil! I cut it back to 1 tsp and its perfect. I also cut the butter in half. Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This rice is amazing. I used whole grain mixed rice instead of white and I omitted the basil. A few friends & I now make this often. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Very easy and delicious! I used less butter to cut down on fat and didn't even use basil this time. Broth and soup make it taste good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This recipe is easy awesome! I added some mushrooms-- per another reviewer's advice-- and cut the butter. I made it with Burgundy Pork Tenderloin. My husband loved the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I have been making this for years, but without the Worcestire sauce or basil. I also use beef consumme instead of broth, though I have used broth when I can't find the consumme. It is a fantastic dish, my boyfriend absolutely loves it and requests it often. It is very fatty though so sometimes I cut down a little on the butter-- doesn't really hurt the taste too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This rice was great! The whole family loved it. Like some of the other reviewers, I didn't add the basil. I didn't want the flavor to be over-powering. I also had to cook it on the stovetop, because I was running short on time. It worked out great, and I will continue to cook it this way. It took about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This rice is soooo easy, and sooo delicious! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
My family loves this recipe. I do not use the basil but it is a really wonderful and flavorful dish that goes with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This a really good base recipe. I made mine on the stove top and doubled the recipe. I also added beef stew meat and broccoli to make a complete meal out of it. My family loved it. My kids ate 2 servings. I served crab rangoons on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is a favorite at my home. I omit the basil, use consumme with a little water instead of broth and put 3-4 pork loin chops on top before putting it in the oven. Thanks for the recipe Monica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States