Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Simple delicious rice. Too much basil! I cut it back to 1 tsp and its perfect. I also cut the butter in half. Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Very easy and delicious! I used less butter to cut down on fat and didn't even use basil this time. Broth and soup make it taste good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
My family loves this recipe. I do not use the basil but it is a really wonderful and flavorful dish that goes with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
Too much basil, I think just a pinch would be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I didn't have white rice so I used instant brown rice, and it turned out incredible!!! I have never been a fan of rice, but my husband is. I can't thank you enough Monica! This is one of those dishes that makes people think you slaved in the kitchen, but it's SO simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is a very flavorful way to make plain white rice. The only change I make is skipping the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I'm not sure why this recipe calls for basil because it really is not needed. I added a pinch but next time I will not add any at all. Was still good and would make again! Easy side dish to any meal! Thanks Monica for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I have been making this for years, but without the Worcestire sauce or basil. I also use beef consumme instead of broth, though I have used broth when I can't find the consumme. It is a fantastic dish, my boyfriend absolutely loves it and requests it often. It is very fatty though so sometimes I cut down a little on the butter-- doesn't really hurt the taste too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This rice is soooo easy, and sooo delicious! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This rice was great! The whole family loved it. Like some of the other reviewers, I didn't add the basil. I didn't want the flavor to be over-powering. I also had to cook it on the stovetop, because I was running short on time. It worked out great, and I will continue to cook it this way. It took about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States