Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
For vegetarian dish, used vegetable broth & Vegetable Orzo soup (instead of French Onion Soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I used brown rice because of diet restrictions. Brown rice always cooks longer. For 1 cup of brown its an hour. So with 1 1/2 cups of the brown rice I would count on 1 hour and 30 minutes. Loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muchkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This recipe rocks. I used instant brown rice, beef broth, butter, worcestershire sauce, 1tsp dried basil. Didn't have a can of french onion soup so I added 1 cup of water and made the "dry onion soup mix" from this site. Cooked in the microwave stirring every 5 minutes until it was done about 15-20 minutes later. Paired this with the "beer lime grilled chicken" from this site. This is going to be made again and again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I love brown rice and it was better then i expected!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My dad taught me to make a recipe very similar to this one. We melt a stick of butter in a large saute pan. Then we add one cup of rice and brown. Then we add one can of condensed french onion soup; one can of beef broth (or water); and Worcestershire sauce (as much or as little as you like). Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and cover. Cook for 20-30 minutes until rice is cook. A favorite at my house!! And it can very easily be doubled for leftovers. Just a little variation of this recipe but just as easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dncczysz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Lacks both onion and beef flavor considering the amount of each in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I have been making this rice for over 30 years. Instead of basil I use about 1 to 1 1/2 tsp of tarragon. This gives it a really nice flavor. I also don't use canned soup, I use a package of Lipton onion soup mix and add 3 cups of water to 1 cup of rice. I don't use worcestershire either. My husband loves this rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I have been using brown rice for years. I use chicken stock and a bit of powdered chicken bouillon for poultry dishes and beef stock and powdered beef bouillon for meat dishes. I sometimes used fine grated parmesan or pecorrino romano cheese. Adds a nice element Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I cooked the rice for 80 mins, and it was still uncooked a bit. Flavor didn't do it for me, not to mention how unhealthy it really is with all the sodium. It was a last minute meal because I was missing things for another dish. Let's say, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wikert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This recipes had a great taste, but because of other reviews I watched it to see if it had any problems cooking in the oven. After the 30 mins it looked like it wasn't going to get done so I popped it in the rice cooker and that did the trick. I will just start it in the rice maker from now on. But great flavors! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States