Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is a super flavorful dish. I'm glad i started it very early because it took over 2 hours to cook. I used long grain brown rice. At an hour, the liquid was absorbed but the rice was not done. I added in a cup of water. 30 minutes later, it was still undercooked so i added in another half cup. Just keep checking it if you are using brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snosin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
my 12 year old and I loved this. Very yummy. I used an extra 1/4 cup water as we like ours rice less chewy. I made my broth with beef soup base and water because I didn't have any canned on hand...and tossed in some baby portabella mushrooms which floated pretty on the top.If you like shrooms they were a great add.Excellent rice. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
we make this rice at least twice a month. my kids LOVE It, ask for thirds (and this coming from a 4 year old who doesn't like brown stuff in his food). its a great side dish for pretty much anything. thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Sara liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I didn't like it but my husband did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everjonez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newtocooking2
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Pretty good. I used brown rice instead of white. Cooked for 1:45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very Tasty! the whole family(including kids really liked it) I made it in the microwave because I was short on time and I omitted the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Easiest, Yummiest rice ever! My husband and I loved it as a side to our broiled halibut and sauteed vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Great tasting! I thought based on the name that it used brown rice though after starting to cook it I noticed it called for white. The cooking time would have been doubled with brown rice therefore I microwaved it for 35 min plus 30 mintues on the stove.. with another 1/3 cup of broth it would be perfect with brown rice. I used all broth instead of the onion soup. I just put in a 1/2 cup of chopped sauted onions which tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States