Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved it. My husband thought it was ok. hence the 4 stars! I did as another reviewer suggested and used 1 tsp basil and half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
First time I've ever reviewed - I felt like you deserved it since I make this so often! My family loves this dish and we eat it all the time. Each of my four kids can be counted on to go back for seconds (not to mention their mother...but that's another story, lol!). I've always made it pretty much as is, though because I keep kosher, I can't find condensed French Onion soup, so I just make it with condensed mushroom soup and it still tastes fantastic. Thanks for such an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Found this recipe on Alton Brown's TV show a long time ago for brown rice, and have used it ever since. Would never use brown rice before since any other method left us less than satisfied. Every time I have served it since, I get rave reviews. We use it often and change it up many ways. For years I have keep copies of it for when I serve guests they always rave over it and demand the recipe, so I keep one handy. Even serving it plain is delish! Bake brown rice for 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
this is not "brown rice" it is beef flavored rice. Can we label it correctly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
My boss makes this, but instead of french onion soup, he uses consome and leaves out the worcestershire and basil.... there are NEVER any left overs! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My family has made this recipe for years - it's a staple. For those wanting to substitute brown rice and wondering why it's not working.. brown rice takes a significantly longer time to cook. I say pair this dish with a healthy side and indulge in the regular rice. Such a perfect classic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great recipe when I took into account the modifications from previous users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This turned out pretty good. I used white rice. Next time I will use brown rice. My kids thought I was making meatloaf by the smell while it was cooking. And they said it tasted like meatloaf so it was nicknamed meatloaf rice lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Delicious! Followed recipe to a 'T' (well, except I left out the basil) and it turned out perfect! Picky husband enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
The reviewer who said this was rice for people who don't like rice was right, but was wrong when she went on to say that if you like rice, you won't like this. We eat lots of rice, plain and otherwise. We all loved this. I had to use the dry onion soup mix recipe from this site because of my gluten allergy, but otherwise made per original recipe. Delicious! I might try it with a little less worcestershire sauce next time, just to see how that is. This would be great with ground beef, ala hamburger helper, or add a little soy sauce and use it in a beef stir-fry. VERY tasty stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States