Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
My entire family loved it. I love that it is so simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Made this recipe exactly as written (except made and used the onion soup mix from this site). Incredibly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
My family loves this recipe. Here's my trick to ensure the rice gets done in the hour it calls for: I heat up the broth and onion soup before I mix with the rice and put it in the oven. I, too, use brown rice, which has a longer cooking time, so doing this trick helps a lot. This rice compliments a lot of different suppers, so I use this recipe time and time again. I also add different things to it sometimes such as mushrooms, peas, diced up carrots, etc. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is excellent! The only reason it is not 5 stars is because it is loaded in sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe!! My husband who usually doesn't like brown rice also loved it! For the healthy reason, I made some small changes. I replace 1/2 cop brown rice with the wild rice; and cut the butter by half. It turned out great! I also soak the brown rice in the beef broth for >1 hour before cooking. I also cooked one hour and 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I left it in the oven for 1hr and 15 mins. Still had a lot of liquid and the rice was still so hard! No one liked it, had to make a pot of white rice as I normally make it so that my family can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved it. My husband thought it was ok. hence the 4 stars! I did as another reviewer suggested and used 1 tsp basil and half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
First time I've ever reviewed - I felt like you deserved it since I make this so often! My family loves this dish and we eat it all the time. Each of my four kids can be counted on to go back for seconds (not to mention their mother...but that's another story, lol!). I've always made it pretty much as is, though because I keep kosher, I can't find condensed French Onion soup, so I just make it with condensed mushroom soup and it still tastes fantastic. Thanks for such an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Found this recipe on Alton Brown's TV show a long time ago for brown rice, and have used it ever since. Would never use brown rice before since any other method left us less than satisfied. Every time I have served it since, I get rave reviews. We use it often and change it up many ways. For years I have keep copies of it for when I serve guests they always rave over it and demand the recipe, so I keep one handy. Even serving it plain is delish! Bake brown rice for 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
this is not "brown rice" it is beef flavored rice. Can we label it correctly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States