Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I Thought this recipe was great! My family does not eat pork so I switched the bacon for a can of chickpeas and it was fantastic! You could also swap the sour cream for 'soy cream' substitute and make the dish vegan friendly! we also tried it with wild rice mixed in and it added an extra nutty crunch! we will surely make it again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNNY OH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was great. I didn't understand a couple of the reviews that said it was dry. This is very creamy. I had some brown rice left over from another recipe so I had to scale the recipe back to match the amount of rice I had. I left out the almonds but I added chopped waterchestnuts and that gave it a great crunch. I also used turkey bacon to cut back fat a little more. So simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Makes a great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
A delicious recipe! I doubled the spices and left out the cilantro, as my family doesn't care for it. And, as another cook suggested, I also omitted the bacon & added chick peas. Very tasty & healthy - LOVE the cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Great! I love this! I used couscous instead and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Good stuff! I made this for a family party ... that I later had to skip ... so I was left with a double recipe's worth. I am eating it this week for lunch at the office. I am gussying it up for the sake of variety...with (at this point) either horseradish or garlic paste (available at the Indian gorcery; looks a lot like horseradish). My one comment on the original recipe: I'm not sure if the bacon added anything at all, except keeping it out of vegetarian hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Great salad on serving day, better the 2nd day! I subbed yogurt for the sour cream, used additional almonds in place of the bacon and used extra lime juice in place of the vinegar. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Wow, I thought this salad looked like it would be good, but I was surprised at how good it really was! I will definately make it again. This makes a healthy, satisfying lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Excellent salad! I left out the honey because I prefer the tanginess of the dressing without it. The only change I'll make next time would be to double the spices for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I liked this very much. Thought it had very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States