Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I liked this very much. Thought it had very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Great salad on serving day, better the 2nd day! I subbed yogurt for the sour cream, used additional almonds in place of the bacon and used extra lime juice in place of the vinegar. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Not good. Had to throw it all away, we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was great. I didn't understand a couple of the reviews that said it was dry. This is very creamy. I had some brown rice left over from another recipe so I had to scale the recipe back to match the amount of rice I had. I left out the almonds but I added chopped waterchestnuts and that gave it a great crunch. I also used turkey bacon to cut back fat a little more. So simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
But don't include the almonds because then it tastes like some of the rice didn't finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Great! I love this! I used couscous instead and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Yum. Few minor changes due to what was in the kitchen: fat free sour cream instead of low fat, canadian bacon instead of traditional and pine nuts in stead of almonds. I also used red pepper flakes instead of a res bell pepper. I had some leftover english cucumber from another salad recipe so I tiossed that in as well. Would be good with some tomatoes in this as well. as well as some broccoli slaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Tried this for lunch to take to work. This is OK but it seemed pretty dry and a little bland after letting sit overnight in the fridge. Maybe if I doubled the spices and red wine vinegar and added another 1/2 cup of sour cream it would be the consistency I was looking for? I'll continue to eat this until it's gone but I'm not sure if we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
A delicious recipe! I doubled the spices and left out the cilantro, as my family doesn't care for it. And, as another cook suggested, I also omitted the bacon & added chick peas. Very tasty & healthy - LOVE the cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I Thought this recipe was great! My family does not eat pork so I switched the bacon for a can of chickpeas and it was fantastic! You could also swap the sour cream for 'soy cream' substitute and make the dish vegan friendly! we also tried it with wild rice mixed in and it added an extra nutty crunch! we will surely make it again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNNY OH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States