Brown Rice Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Yummy, easy to put together, inexpensive, and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I added 1 cup of (uncooked) brown rice and went heavy on the parsley. Doubled the ingredients for the dressing. Really a tasty way to eat brown rice and lentils---my four year old son (massive picky eater) liked it and didn't complain about the "green stuff" in the salad. As a dietitian, I give this two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I double this recipe for our family of five eaters, use chicken broth instead of water and bouillon, and serve it over spinach leaves. You could use veggie broth or bouillon to make this a vegetarian dish. For the sake of efficiency, I cook my lentils and rice together using a 1:2 ratio of food to water or broth. You can do that on the stove or in a rice cooker. We've found that this has a bite to it on the day you make it, but tones down quite a bit as leftovers on day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
The red wine vinegar was incredibly overpowering. It tasted like salad dressing. I measured with a measuring spoon, so it could be that the measured Tbsp of vinegar is greater than say a spoon out of the drawer. Not sure I'd bother to try this again though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made this twice today and I really regret it. The first time I followed advice to cook the lentils and rice together and the lentils disintegrated. So i just served the mushy mixture with chicken for dinner. I tried again later in the evening. This time I cooked the lentils separately for 15 minutes until they were tender but still intact. The lentil trouble wasn't the recipe's fault. But the dressing, yikes! The first batch I made according to the recipe but it was incredibly salty (and, combined with the seasoned rice, would be inedible). I could also tell the vinegar and Dijon were really strong. So for the second batch I used just a dash of salt and slightly less Dijon and vinegar. I really love tart flavors but this was not the best. I have a feeling I'll be trying this again tomorrow since I have all the ingredients. But I'll be cutting the vinegar, Dijon, and lime by half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I really loved this, but I did make some changes to make it healthier. I subbed vegetable bouillon for chicken, I left out the olive oil, and I used 2 tsp of Mrs. Dash and 2 tsp of Liquid Bragg's in place of the salt. Really, really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I would eat this salad every day. It was excellent. I added some baby portobella mushroom slices and also replaced the seeded chopped tomato with grape tomato halves. I plan to make this recipe quite regularly -- healthy, simple and oh so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Ok. Used balsamic instead of red wine vinegar. Only used half the amount. Cooked lentils with brown rice. Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Nice recipe for a summer BBQ. I used chicken broth and added in some red bell pepper. Also used honey dijon mustard, it's all I had on hand. Loved the flavours, although it is very garlicky. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was super. Everyone loved it and the entire bowl was eaten. Will make again for sure. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States