Brown Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I doubled this recipe and the cooking time as well. The rice was still uncooked when I took it out 2 hours later. Very salty, not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
this wasn't great...i can't really say it tasted bad though because it didn't taste like anything! i would maybe try it again but there would be some huge changes - so i think i'll keep looking instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Recipe as is is mushy and tasteless. Despite the negative reviews I made anyway, using the best and freshest ingredients available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Having made this a time or two before, I went back to this site to locate the recipe again and was surprised at the low rating some had given it. It's a nice way to add a healthy vegetarian meal to your rotation (perhaps not something for company, but a yummy week-night change), and I love that it uses brown rice and lots of veggies. I like to cook my rice in broth (chicken or veggie for this recipe) for added flavor, and used Italian-style diced tomatoes (one of my favorite quick-fix ingredients). I also added frozen petite peas with the rest of the veggies in the saute instead of using dry split peas. I love basil, so I added that with the rest of the herbs. If you're looking for brown rice recipes, don't pass this one up without trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I had some split peas around and decided to use them up in this casserole. It's not a really traditional casserole, but it was okay. I added more garlic and onion, and also added chili powder because I didn't want it to be really bland. What really saved this was some turkey bacon- just a piece or two and it really added a smoky buttery flavor that was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I thought this recipe was great! My whole family even my picky 1 and 2 year old loved it. The only thing was I increased the garlic, and added basil too! I was very happy with this dish, and would be proud to serve it to my friends and family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippiemamakelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was actually one of the only recipes I made without reading the reviews. I really wish I had. I tasted it before adding the cheese and it was HORRIBLY bland. At first I was gonna dump the whole thing but that would've been a waste of perfectly good ingredients so I dumped it back into my saucepan with more veggies, added some chicken stock, got liberal with some seasoning salt, garlic, fresh cracked pepper and-interestingly enough- curry. Now it's fantastic! But I would NOT reccomend this recipe if you're not ready to do some serious doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was pretty darn good - a little bland, but that's okay. I used frozen tomatoes and added some sauce for liquid, omitted the peas, and cooked the rice first as per the instructions on the package. I went light on the cheese but wished I'd added more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I don't know if I missed something the previous reviewer used,but I made this recipe for a covered dish lunch at my house and it looked so dismal I didn't even serve it. I asked my husband to taste it when he got home later in the day and he said "it tastes like library paste." I tasted it myself and it was dreadful. Perhaps needed more seasonings - but I ended up throwing the entire thing into the trash can, couldn't figure out a way to salvage it. My recommendation: don't go here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This was so easy and delicious! I omitted the split peas b/c I didn't have any on hand, and used diced tomatoes with green chilies to spice it up a bit. A definite keeper! (I'm making it again this weekend)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States