Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This was wonderful. I made a few changes based upon what I had in the cupboard. I used regular brown rice instead of instant, added more garlic, used 1/2 cup of mexican cheese and a few shots of Tabasco. Yum!! Tasty and filling. I served this with a piece of baked fish. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I was making this recipe and thinking to myself that the ingredients were too easy and wondering how it would combine. I thought it would be pretty boring, but my husband and I really enjoyed the flavours. This was a great recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. Next time, I will use normal brown rice (not instant) and cook some brown lentils in with the rice when boiling with the stock. I love the combination of lentils, onion and brown rice, so I think it will make this recipe a 5 1/2 star one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
this one suprised me. it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I love all these ingredients except the walnuts. I think brown rice is a hidden secret in our pantry and it alone helped me lose almost 30 pounds!! Any recipe with brown rice I will try. I really liked it except I had to steam the broccoli with water or it shrivels up w/o it. I also put mine in a casserole dish and baked it in the 350 degree oven for 25 mins. and it was all gooey and good!! I also use low-fat cheese cause then its not as greasy. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Very good, very quick recipe! We used almonds instead of walnuts and added a drained can of kidney beans to make a complete meal since we do not eat meat. Wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe and please keep keep creating in your kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Everyone loved it (including the picky 10 year-old)! I used a whole boil-in-the-bag thing of brown rice (minute rice) and used lots of garlic. A reduced fat cheddar topped it and was well-received (less greasy that regular and just as yummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Very Tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
I didn't have any quick cooking brown rice so I used converted white rice and doubled the liquid and it turned out great! My family declared it a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
My husband is 31 years old and has never eaten a piece of fresh broccoli in his life. I made this for him for dinner this evening and he LOVED it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
Oh yum. Thanks for sharing your creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States