Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I've adapted this recipe at bit, I don't use instant rice, I use a regular brown and wild rice mix. I cook the rice using vegetable broth, and then add to it the cooked onion and garlic (I use double the garlic). I steam the broccoli, and then add it to the rice, onion and and garlic, mix the cheese through it (I use about 1/2 cup more cheese than what is called for - I like it cheesy) and bake in the oven until the cheese is melted, and then sprinkle the toasted walnuts on top. It's a great recipe, I've shared it with several people who all think it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This gets 5 stars with the changes I made to it. Before, I found it lacked a little something. I took the advice of many reviewers and made this as a casserole instead. I used real brown rice instead of instant and olive oil instead of butter. I used low-fat cheese, too, and I don't think it affected the taste. I added extra broccoli because we love it and steamed it in the microwave for about 4 minutes before adding it to the rice, onion, cheese mixture. The major change I made was adding shelled, toasted pumpkin seeds instead of walnuts. They seem to add just the right touch of crunch and salt to the recipe. Then I baked the whole thing at 350 for about 20 minutes. My kids love this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I love all these ingredients except the walnuts. I think brown rice is a hidden secret in our pantry and it alone helped me lose almost 30 pounds!! Any recipe with brown rice I will try. I really liked it except I had to steam the broccoli with water or it shrivels up w/o it. I also put mine in a casserole dish and baked it in the 350 degree oven for 25 mins. and it was all gooey and good!! I also use low-fat cheese cause then its not as greasy. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
DELICIOUS! I just changed it a little bit: In a 10 inch skillet I sauteed about 1/4 lg. onion diced small on low for about 10 mins. in butter and oilve oil. Then I added about 4 sm. cloves of garlic chopped small and cooked for about 1 min. more. Added instant brown rice and fried it for a couple of mins. in the mixture. Added 1 c. CHICKEN broth, brought it up to a boil, then covered it and turned it to super low and cooked it until all the liquid absorbed (10 mins?). Tossed in the frozen broccoli I had already steamed and about 1 c. finely shredded "mexican style" cheese (that's what I had in the fridge). I divided it in two servings (my hubby and I loved it THAT MUCH!) and topped it with the toasted walnuts. YUM! Oh, we also had some baked salmon along with it. The salmon took a backseat to this wonderful rice dish. Thanks Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I was making this recipe and thinking to myself that the ingredients were too easy and wondering how it would combine. I thought it would be pretty boring, but my husband and I really enjoyed the flavours. This was a great recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. Next time, I will use normal brown rice (not instant) and cook some brown lentils in with the rice when boiling with the stock. I love the combination of lentils, onion and brown rice, so I think it will make this recipe a 5 1/2 star one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I would give it a 3.5. I think it needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Very good, very quick recipe! We used almonds instead of walnuts and added a drained can of kidney beans to make a complete meal since we do not eat meat. Wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe and please keep keep creating in your kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Great! Added lentils to the rice and this was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I was looking for something that would be comforting, but not too unhealthy and this was perfect. I used regular brown rice and cooked it with the onions and garlic per the recipe, but used 2 1/2 c. of broth and simmered it covered for 60 minutes. I also cooked the broccoli in my steamer until it was bright green and tender/crisp. I really liked the different textures in this dish. I leave the cheese out since I've stopped eating dairy and it was still tasty and very low in saturated fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Everyone loved it (including the picky 10 year-old)! I used a whole boil-in-the-bag thing of brown rice (minute rice) and used lots of garlic. A reduced fat cheddar topped it and was well-received (less greasy that regular and just as yummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States