Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
It was OK. I just added a chicken bouillion cube to the rice as I boiled it. Tasted good. Not amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was really good. I omitted the walnuts and mixed about half the cheese into the dish and baked it with the other half of the cheese on top. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I'll gladly give it 4 stars. My family and myself really liked your recipe. Thanks for putting it in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was so yummy. I used Smart Balance instead of butter, skim cheese & used low-sodium veggie broth, though. My husband added his own sea salt, but I kept mine w/ no salt. We will be making this often. It made such a pretty presentation, too! I think it will be a great way for my non-vegetarian guests to eat a wonderful vegetarian meal & be satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
DELICIOUS! I just changed it a little bit: In a 10 inch skillet I sauteed about 1/4 lg. onion diced small on low for about 10 mins. in butter and oilve oil. Then I added about 4 sm. cloves of garlic chopped small and cooked for about 1 min. more. Added instant brown rice and fried it for a couple of mins. in the mixture. Added 1 c. CHICKEN broth, brought it up to a boil, then covered it and turned it to super low and cooked it until all the liquid absorbed (10 mins?). Tossed in the frozen broccoli I had already steamed and about 1 c. finely shredded "mexican style" cheese (that's what I had in the fridge). I divided it in two servings (my hubby and I loved it THAT MUCH!) and topped it with the toasted walnuts. YUM! Oh, we also had some baked salmon along with it. The salmon took a backseat to this wonderful rice dish. Thanks Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was amazing. I desided to steam as suggested and added a little more cheese and garlic then suggested, I also love cheese. Will definately make agian! The walnuts really make it unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murray
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was well liked by the family, and I felt good about serving them a healthy meal. It's easy and fast to put together too, which is a big bonus for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was a pretty good side dish, but I think I'd cut back on the cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I'm loving this recipe! I made a few changes based on others' recommendations: I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, regular brown rice, extra broccoli, and mixed it all together and baked it for 15 min. I ate it as a main course for lunch which was great, but am thinking it would be an awesome side dish with some nice baked fish... mmm.... I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Delicious! We also made this for guests and my husband wants me to make it when my in-laws visit. My husband and I will eat this as a vegetarain main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodbine, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States