Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I really liked this recipe even though I changed it a little because of what I had on hand. I used basmati rice and cooked it in chicken broth. I pretty much did every thing else the same. Used fresh broccoli and extra cheese. I would use extra walnuts next time... it made it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe as I made it would be 4 stars, but since I changed SO much from the original, I'm giving it 3 stars. I steamed the broccoli and used regular brown rice, cooked in veggie broth. I sauteed the onions and garlic in canola oil and substituted pine nuts for walnuts. I used more cheddar and added Parmesan, and I mixed everything together in a large bowl, put in a small casserole dish, sprinkled more cheese on top, and baked it all. It turned out quite well with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
WE LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I took some ideas from the other reviewers and exchanged the walnuts (i´m not too crazy about them) for pine nuts. All in all, a good, easy recipe to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marina Ramalho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natal, Rio Grande Do Norte, Brazil
Living In: Whistler, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My family and I really liked this, but I did tweak it. I used olive oil as others suggested and cooked the onion and garlic in it. Then I added the brown rice and 1 and 1/2cups of chicken broth and cooked that til the rice absorbed it. Then stirred in half the amount of cheddar and 1/4 c of parmesean cheese. Threw in the broccoli and added a can of cream of mushroom soup and then poured in in the dish. I don't care for walnut so added italian seasoned panko bread crumbs on top and the rest of the cheddar cheese and cooked it for 20-30 minutes. MMM MMM it was delish! My picky son even ate it. Next time i might add a little Mircle Whip salad dressing to give it a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scrappy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We followed other reviewers' suggestions and cooked regular rice in a rice cooker, then mixed everything together in a casserole and baked til the cheese was bubbly. We also added a little bit of red pepper flakes and cumin. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
My husband and I thought this tasted a little plain. Generally think it needs more seasoning and maybe more cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great taste and quite easy to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Cornelius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Hey this was wonderful, and even better the next day for lunch!!!! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Yummy! I added extra garlic and extra salt to taste. Also used chicken broth in place of veggie broth. I cooked the broccoli with a chicken bouillon cube in a little water on the stove. I made this once as a casserole and once right out of the pan and the stovetop way is the best. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought this was quite yummy. My husband did not care at all for the side dish. I would make again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States