Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My family and I really liked this, but I did tweak it. I used olive oil as others suggested and cooked the onion and garlic in it. Then I added the brown rice and 1 and 1/2cups of chicken broth and cooked that til the rice absorbed it. Then stirred in half the amount of cheddar and 1/4 c of parmesean cheese. Threw in the broccoli and added a can of cream of mushroom soup and then poured in in the dish. I don't care for walnut so added italian seasoned panko bread crumbs on top and the rest of the cheddar cheese and cooked it for 20-30 minutes. MMM MMM it was delish! My picky son even ate it. Next time i might add a little Mircle Whip salad dressing to give it a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We followed other reviewers' suggestions and cooked regular rice in a rice cooker, then mixed everything together in a casserole and baked til the cheese was bubbly. We also added a little bit of red pepper flakes and cumin. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
My husband and I thought this tasted a little plain. Generally think it needs more seasoning and maybe more cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great taste and quite easy to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Hey this was wonderful, and even better the next day for lunch!!!! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Yummy! I added extra garlic and extra salt to taste. Also used chicken broth in place of veggie broth. I cooked the broccoli with a chicken bouillon cube in a little water on the stove. I made this once as a casserole and once right out of the pan and the stovetop way is the best. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought this was quite yummy. My husband did not care at all for the side dish. I would make again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
AMAZING combo! I made this with the Grilled Salmon recipe here and reserved the marinade (used about 1/4 cup) to pour over the rice and it turned into a restaurant quality Chinese dish. I swapped Walnuts for roasted slivered almonds. Baked at 375 for 20 minutes with 1/4c cheese in the casserole and 1/4c cheese on top. Delicious and can definitely be a meal all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I don't like broccoli that much, but when it's surrounded by cheesy goodness, it's a lot easier to handle. I substituted toasted slivered almonds for the walnuts, which added a nice crunch (and the healthy kind of fat), and baked it at the end like some people recommended for about 15 minutes. I'll totally make it again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was great! The only thing I would take out next time is the walnuts. I wasn't a big fan of them with this. I would also probably crush up the broccoli smaller in this, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States