Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Very tasty. My husband commented that it had great flavor, and it gets two thumbs up for being so healthy. I also baked this for 1 hour and then added the cheese, walnuts, and frozen broccoli and cook for 20 more minutes uncovered. This will be a permanent addition to my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
i made this when i had a terrible cold and needed something tasty and easy. i followed other reviewers advice and put the rice (i used brown rice) and lentils in a baking dish, added low-sodium chicken stock, covered it and baked at 350 until it was almost done (about 45 minutes). i also added dried red pepper flakes, garlic powder, and black pepper. i added frozen broccoli and cheddar cheese and cooked a few more minutes until the cheese melted. i was surprised at how good it was and this will definately be in my permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is so easy to make and quite good. It has a really nice texture and flavor. The only thing I changed is I put it all together into a casserole instead of serving platter and put it in the oven for 15 to 20 minutes. It melts the cheese better and heats it all through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Delicious-and it's pretty . I've made it six times in the last month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I only put about 1/4 cup of onion in because my family would not eat it otherwise. I also used fat free chicken broth instead of vegetable and left out the salt. My family liked it and they want me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Definitely different-the tastes work surprisingly well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
*I* thought this was absolutely delicious, but my husband thought it was boring. However, this is my review, not his! ;) Anyway, I used chicken broth instead of vegetable cos that is what I had. I added a dash of chili powder to the broccoli and used lactose-free cheese. Instead of serving the broccoli and cheese over the rice, I just mixed all the ingredients together in the rice skillet (to make sure the cheese was good and melted, as it tastes weird if it's not) and served from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
My husband and I loved this dish; it adds some zip to plain old brown rice. I used boil-in-bag brown rice, once cooked I added it to my sautéed onion and garlic and put it in an 8x8 glass baking dish. Toped it off with steamed broccoli, feta and pecans, and threw it in the oven while my chicken finished baking. WOW, GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This is sooooooooooooo good! Every vegetarian should have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
this was yummy. I substituted wild rice for the brown because it was handy and it was a beautiful contrast of colors and textures,dried cranberrys would be a great addition,thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States