Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe is really good! I didn't have any eggs so I made it without them but it still came out soo yummy, especially on a cold /windy autumn day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
THIS IS REALLY GOOD! I've been hungry for rice pudding. This is really close, a little more runny, BUT GOOD! I'll definately make it again. I run a small daycare, and made it for a quick lunch today. They loved it!! I added the blueberries, but you could use raisins as a much cheaper alternative. We used both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I like breakfast comfort foods and was pretty happy with this recipe. Skipped the egg and thought it came out fine. Tried subbing chopped apple and raisins the first time and used fresh blueberries and almonds the second time I made it. Liked the tartness of the blueberries better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Yummy! A soft rice pudding that's appropriate for breakfast! Just the right amount of sweetness, too. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is yummy, healthy, easy to make and open to variations/substitutions. I made this with some brown rice I had leftover from the chinese restaurant. The first time I used low sugar pancake syrup (it's what I had), frozen mixed berries instead of dried fruit and omitted the spices and vanilla because I had none. The second time I used regular sugar, lots of cinnamon, a little nutmeg and 1/4 c dried pineapple. I skipped the egg and added salt both times. I love this recipe and will be making it for breakfast every day until I run out of rice and every time thereafter that I have brown rice. A quick note: There is a big difference in taste between using sweet fruits and tart fruits, so you may have to adjust the amount of sugar you put in depending on what fruit you use. The pineapple might have actually been okay without any sugar but I had to add a lot of syrup to the porridge with the 1 cup of frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Fabulous! This kind of reminded me of a cross between oatmeal and rice pudding. It's quick, easy, healthy, and if you have the brown rice, you'll most likely have the other main ingredients on hand. I did not have blueberries, so instead I chopped up some walnuts & threw them in. I put in maybe 3 dashes of cinnamon and doubled the honey. Depending on what you add in, you may want to adjust the sweetness. My family really loved this. Some of us added in fresh strawberries too. I added in the egg, but it was creamy enough even before I added the egg. I think it would be great both w/ or w/o the egg. I've posted a photo of this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Yummy. I added a little maple syrup after cooking, a pinch of salt, and skipped the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I also doubled the honey, I thought it was good- I put in dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This tremendously SIMPLE recipe was a real and true "find" for me. I don't like Oatmeal but I do enjoy some of the other hot breakfast cereals (e.g., farina, cream of rice, cream of wheat, etc.). At the same time, it just never occurred to me (after 35+ years of cooking for a family of 5!!!!) to use my own rice (or last night's leftovers, even) in order to "present" a nourishing breakfast. This recipe is GREAT !!! You start with the rice and then add whatever else you (and/or your family members) enjoy (for instance, banana, strawberries perhaps even grapes or raisins instead of blueberries; dried apricots, peaches or prunes are also considerations, also). IMHO, the VANILLA and CINNAMON are "MUSTS". As is the BUTTER. But, after that, just "fly" (molasses, white or brown sugar, maple -- or any other flavor -- syrup rather than honey; homogenized milk, heavy or light cream, half-and-half etc. rather than 2%, etc. etc. etc.). My family members are Ruby Red Grapefruit Juice drinkers, so that's what I've been using as our "side". But orange, apple, grape, prune juice, etc. or any one of the available "blends" would be appropriate, too; as would be a glass of milk. Thank you, thank you, thank you, cherry007, for your contribution. My family is eating BREAKFAST again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is wonderful, hearty, healthy and satisfying.I've adapted it to make my own version of "instant porridge". I cook up a large batch of brown rice in the microwave (30 minutes on high). I divide the cooked rice into individual servings (2/3 cup rice in each plastic bag). I add 2 Tablespoons brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and a handful of raisins to each and then freeze. At breakfast, remove from bag, put in a bowl and microwave for 1 minute. Stir in 1/2 cup milk, 2 Tablespoons of egg substitute (like egg beaters) and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Microwave for one and a half minutes. Stir and serve. Instant, healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States