Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very yummy, and Very filling. I upped the amount of everything to serve 3 and it turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a great way to use leftover brown rice. After reading previous reviews, I substituted dried cherries and toasted almonds for the blueberries but otherwise followed the recipe as is. Very creamy, almost like rice pudding. Will use much less butter, if any next time. It was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I don't care for brown rice, but I had part of a bag that I didn't want to throw out, so I gave this a try. It was pretty good! I used more like 1½ cups of rice and I omitted the egg. I also omitted the cinnamon (allergies), added 2 TBS of brown sugar, and used raisins in place of blueberries. Oh, and Country Crock was a little healthier than butter... It was tasty! Not quite as glorious as oatmeal (for me, anyhow!), but a nice change and a way to use up that first-and-only-ever purchased bag of brown rice. Thanks for sharing, Cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Soooo good! I made this for 1 serving, and used Splenda in place of honey, egg sub and skipped the butter. Also used 1% milk and fat free half and half. Tasted like dessert:-) Was yummy and nutritous...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was okay but I thought it needed a bit more sweetener...a sprinkle of brown sugar made it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Followed recipe exactly did not taste as yummy as I thought it would. If I was in the woods camping I think I would really like it. Will take on next trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EatsBooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I enjoy hot cereals and this was delicious. I put in cranberries this time and next time I will put in golden raisins. Thanks for a new hot cereal fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is wonderful, hearty, healthy and satisfying.I've adapted it to make my own version of "instant porridge". I cook up a large batch of brown rice in the microwave (30 minutes on high). I divide the cooked rice into individual servings (2/3 cup rice in each plastic bag). I add 2 Tablespoons brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and a handful of raisins to each and then freeze. At breakfast, remove from bag, put in a bowl and microwave for 1 minute. Stir in 1/2 cup milk, 2 Tablespoons of egg substitute (like egg beaters) and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Microwave for one and a half minutes. Stir and serve. Instant, healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This tremendously SIMPLE recipe was a real and true "find" for me. I don't like Oatmeal but I do enjoy some of the other hot breakfast cereals (e.g., farina, cream of rice, cream of wheat, etc.). At the same time, it just never occurred to me (after 35+ years of cooking for a family of 5!!!!) to use my own rice (or last night's leftovers, even) in order to "present" a nourishing breakfast. This recipe is GREAT !!! You start with the rice and then add whatever else you (and/or your family members) enjoy (for instance, banana, strawberries perhaps even grapes or raisins instead of blueberries; dried apricots, peaches or prunes are also considerations, also). IMHO, the VANILLA and CINNAMON are "MUSTS". As is the BUTTER. But, after that, just "fly" (molasses, white or brown sugar, maple -- or any other flavor -- syrup rather than honey; homogenized milk, heavy or light cream, half-and-half etc. rather than 2%, etc. etc. etc.). My family members are Ruby Red Grapefruit Juice drinkers, so that's what I've been using as our "side". But orange, apple, grape, prune juice, etc. or any one of the available "blends" would be appropriate, too; as would be a glass of milk. Thank you, thank you, thank you, cherry007, for your contribution. My family is eating BREAKFAST again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I also doubled the honey, I thought it was good- I put in dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States