Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was the perfect way for me to use up some leftover brown rice from dinner two days ago! I am pretty health-conscious so I made a few changes to lighten this up just a little. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of 2% regular milk, used a little splenda to sweeten it instead of honey, and added some extra cinnamon. I didn't have dried blueberries, so I made it without the fruit on the stove and then stirred in some fresh strawberries and blueberries before serving it. I didn't even add the butter at the end and it turned out so creamy! My version was really tasty, so I can imagine that the "full fat" version would be DELICIOUS too :) Thanks for the recipe- I'll never throw away dry leftover brown rice again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
To speed things up, and to create a smooth-textured semolina-like end-product, I put the cooked brown rice (previously cooked in a rice-cooker) in a blender with rice milk, water, raw egg and vanilla, and blend till smooth. The mixture goes into a pot, a variety of dried fruit is added, and brought to the boil. When hot, the heat is turned off, a lid is put on the pot, and the porridge is left to stand for about 20 minutes to allow the heat to soften the fruit. It is like having a dessert for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
It was good. I used stevia and agave in place of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is a good way to use up extra brown rice on hand. This was my breakfast for 3 mornings in a row. A good change from oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
this was surprisingly good! will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Simple and delicious--rice pudding for breakfast! I added maple syrup, raisins and walnuts to mine and used non fat milk--it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is really good! I usually only have fresh or frozen blueberries, so I just add them before serving along with some kind of nut - pecans are super. This would be great with any kind of berry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
this is a good healthy breakfast. I recently found out if you coat the blueberries with flour first they will notcolor the recipe. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very good and easy. Due to food allergies I used rice milk instead of milk and agave nectar instead of honey. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Defenitely Five Stars!! Was looking for a wheat alternative during a detox and came across this! Although no allergies to wheat, this has become an absolute staple for breakfast. Will be making this for guests. The only change I made was using almond rice milk. I even skipped the honey and it was fabulous, although I'm sure it's even better with it! Absolutly delicious, so glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States