Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by spatula flipper
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I think that this recipe is a really good idea. I think its a great way to get the kids off to school with a nutricious meal in their bellies and not the sugar bomb that cereal is. That said, my kids didnt like it. That wont keep me from giving it to them every now and then though. I liked it by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this to use up some dried blueberries. I have oatmeal almost every day of the week, and I am a huge fan of rice pudding, so I really thought that I would like this recipe. It's just missing something. Even with the cinnamon, it was kind of bland. I would have preferred brown sugar over the honey and raisins over the blueberries. It's edible, and I did eat it, but I'm not giving up my oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I really wanted to skip the egg. I love eggs but it seemed weird. I did it with the egg and it was fantastic. Don't skip the egg you will be missing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I doubled this recipe. To make this a little creamier, I used half fat free evaporated milk. I threw in more than what was called for of dried blueberries, I want to say I at least doubled it. I also upped the vanilla to a full teaspoon. This was really awesome. Not only is it really cheap to make, but it uses low-calorie/on hand ingredients to make a hearty, warm breakfast. This would be good with almost any kind of dried fruit you have or even chopped apples (which I plan on trying tomorrow morning). I really appreciated this breakfast this morning and all of us thought it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Great use for leftovers! I only used the egg white, and it still turned out great. Added dried cranberries and raisins to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Perfect for a bunch of leftover brown rice I had! Dressed it up by trading cranberries for the blueberries, adding nutmeg, and garnishing with pomegranate seeds (also leftover from last night) and toasted walnuts. I might try it with orange zest, ginger and cranberries next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was the first time I'd had brown rice breakfast porridge, and it was good. I don't know if I'd ever have it again, and I certainly wouldn't make rice specifically for this. But since I had some leftover, it worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My four year old LOVES this! He loves rice, and now that he's tried it for breakfast with milk on it, it's his preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Yum, yum! Dessert for breakfast! I used dried cranberries and was liberal with the honey, cinnamon and vanilla. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong but this didn't turn out that great. It didn't taste like porridge but rather like rice cooked in milk. Covering the pot while it is simmering might help. I may try putting it all in a blender for a creamier consistency. I didn't add butter since I consider it unnecessary fat. Added fresh blueberries after it was done cooking rather than dried. I don't like porridge super sweet but with this I found I had to add sweetener. I really like brown rice so I will experiment with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States