Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really tasty (without the egg yolk, fresh strawberries instead of dried blueberries) but i gotta say I didn't try it earlier because the picture looks SOOOO awful. I had looked for a good brown rice pudding recipe and wanted to try this, but every time i looked at the photo I didn't think it looked appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made this with our leftover rice from last night! Delicious breakfast treat. It look/smelled good even before I added the eggs and butter. Next time I will try leaving those ingredients out for a more healthy dish! Thanks, we loved this one! BTW, the nasty purple picture must be someone's idea of a joke. Be sure to look at all the pictures before passing this one by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
mmm soooooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is a great way to use brown rice, and a nice alternative to oatmeal. I used almond milk, left out the blueberries (didn't have any), used more cinnamon (I am a cinnamon fan!), and used a little Stevia as a sweetener instead of honey - turned out fantastic. This would be good with a variety of fresh or dried, such as apples, bananas, raisins (more like rice pudding!), so it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I am so happy I tried this-it is very good and such a great way to use leftover brown rice from dinner! I put in fresh strawberries diced and dried mango diced. I was completely out of butter so I substituted 1 Tbsp. Coconut Oil. This was so good. Is defidently on our menu forever-I am sure I will be trying lots of differant fruits in this. Thank you so much for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Wonderful recipe-all the proportions are perfect. I doubled everything, substituted blueberries with dried cherries and in the very end added hazelnut-turned out to be magnificent. Every next time fruit and nuts can be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGumanoid
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was terrible. Its super low on flavor and probably would've been bearable to eat (somewhat similar to oatmeal with milk) until we added the egg, which completely ruined the concoction. If you're looking for a good rice breakfast recipe look somewhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Really good, very hearty. Tried this using almond milk instead of cow's milk (I'm lactose intolerant), and the texture was a little strange. It didn't thicken up quite like it should have, and I'm assuming this is why, since everything else was the same. But the flavors are excellent, and it's very filling. I'll be making this again, most likely with regular milk - and will keep my Lactaid handy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very tasty! My daughter loved it (she's a big oatmeal fan). I used raisins and brown sugar instead of blueberries and honey since that's what I had on hand. A keeper for when we have extra cooked rice on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wonderful texture. Left out the egg and was completely satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States