Brown Rice Black Bean Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Reading everyone else's positive reviews, I'm wondering if I'd done something wrong. It was palatable, but very bland. I ended up adding more cumin and more chili powder, and threw in salt, paprika, and cayenne in addition--still seemed pretty flavorless. This is what I'd view as a great starting recipe, but the flavoring needs a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used fresh black beans (pressure cookered), frozen corn, added green chillies, a little salt, and continued the rest of the recipe as is!! It was great, the family loved it! Thank you! I might try a little lime juice next time. oh, and I didn't have any green onion, but think it would be great next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Love it. We are not vegetarians. I added some ground beef, rolled the burritos, sprayed a cooking sheet with Pam, placed them on the cookie sheet and sprayed the top with a little Pam also and baked for 13 minutes and then broiled until lightly browned. My family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Loved it. I only used 1 teaspoon of chili powder and used light sour cream instead of yogurt. I also left out the corn. My husband doesn't like corn and we didn't miss it, but I like some of the suggestions to use sauteed bell pepper, so I will try that next time. This particular brand of brown rice is fantastic! Very easy and tasty. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good, very quick, very cheap, very filling! I was out of cumin so I reduced the amount of chili powder and added several packets of mild taco sauce from one of those drive thru places. I also used sour cream instead of yogurt and frozen corn instead of canned. Really enjoyed and looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dublin34

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This recipe was better than expected. I used extra garlic and added salsa to the mix to spice it up a little for my taste. Also subbed homemade pinto beans for black and was excellent not to mention healthy! A keeper. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Good healthy recipe. I don't give it 5 stars because it's not the best burrito I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were pretty straight forward and good, I would skip on the yogurt next time. It didn't really add anything to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Quick, easy, & healthy. This is a basic filling that can be customized to your preferences with guacamole, lettuce, tomatoes, etc. We added grilled chicken to some of our burritos. It needed salt & pepper and some zippy salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
i totally ruined this recipe by accidentally buying and adding parsley, not cilantro, to the rice mix!!!! make sure u read the label on the herbs ur buying, bcuz they look almost identical! will try again soon :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States