Brown Rice Black Bean Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Reading everyone else's positive reviews, I'm wondering if I'd done something wrong. It was palatable, but very bland. I ended up adding more cumin and more chili powder, and threw in salt, paprika, and cayenne in addition--still seemed pretty flavorless. This is what I'd view as a great starting recipe, but the flavoring needs a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used fresh black beans (pressure cookered), frozen corn, added green chillies, a little salt, and continued the rest of the recipe as is!! It was great, the family loved it! Thank you! I might try a little lime juice next time. oh, and I didn't have any green onion, but think it would be great next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Love it. We are not vegetarians. I added some ground beef, rolled the burritos, sprayed a cooking sheet with Pam, placed them on the cookie sheet and sprayed the top with a little Pam also and baked for 13 minutes and then broiled until lightly browned. My family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Loved it. I only used 1 teaspoon of chili powder and used light sour cream instead of yogurt. I also left out the corn. My husband doesn't like corn and we didn't miss it, but I like some of the suggestions to use sauteed bell pepper, so I will try that next time. This particular brand of brown rice is fantastic! Very easy and tasty. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good, very quick, very cheap, very filling! I was out of cumin so I reduced the amount of chili powder and added several packets of mild taco sauce from one of those drive thru places. I also used sour cream instead of yogurt and frozen corn instead of canned. Really enjoyed and looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dublin34

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This recipe was better than expected. I used extra garlic and added salsa to the mix to spice it up a little for my taste. Also subbed homemade pinto beans for black and was excellent not to mention healthy! A keeper. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Good healthy recipe. I don't give it 5 stars because it's not the best burrito I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were pretty straight forward and good, I would skip on the yogurt next time. It didn't really add anything to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Quick, easy, & healthy. This is a basic filling that can be customized to your preferences with guacamole, lettuce, tomatoes, etc. We added grilled chicken to some of our burritos. It needed salt & pepper and some zippy salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
i totally ruined this recipe by accidentally buying and adding parsley, not cilantro, to the rice mix!!!! make sure u read the label on the herbs ur buying, bcuz they look almost identical! will try again soon :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States