Brown Rice and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I agree that this is a good basic recipe yet I, too, made some changes. I cooked the rice with 3 cups of chicken broth for about 30 minutes on the stovetop (until all the broth was absorbed). Like WATERGIRL1 I used frozen broccoli (petite florets) instead of the green beans. I also omitted the dill & water. I only added about a cup of milk -- just until the mixture looked slightly creamy. I also saved 1/2 cup of the cheese to sprinkle on top before putting it in the oven. Baked it for 1 hour, it looked and tasted great. My family says it's a "keeper". Thanks, GRLBUG, for a good meal idea using brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Giving 5 stars with the following changes: used 2 cans broccoli cheese soup, approx 3 cups broccoli, 1 cup milk, lemon seasoning salt, 1/2 tsp italian seasoning, 1 1/2 cup low fat cheddar cheese, used more garlic because we prefer more - omitted water, green beans, basil and dill. I cooked the rice in 3 cups of chicken broth about 40 min, til liquid absorbed. Sprinkled lemon pepper on boneless chicken and baked covered until tender. Steamed fresh broccoli. Mixed all together well and baked for about hour. Even my picky 7 year old daughter ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It was okay. It would have been better with broccoli instead of green beans.(With that change you would use a different soup.)The flavor was okay too. I like dill, maybe some people don't. Some of the ratings baffle me. They made So Many changes, they weren't even making the same casserole. If I make it again, I will change some things. At least give a recipe a chance before you make sweeping changes and give it a bad rating. Maybe your changes are what messed it up. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Suggest longer baking time - add additional 15 to 20 minutes. Great mix of flavors. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I used white rice instead of brown and 16 oz. frozen greens beans instead of canned. I also increased the cheese from 1.5 cups to 2 cups. I found this to be very very bland. I had to add lots of hot sauce and salt to it to give it flavor. I think this i a good base for a recipe, but it needs something else to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was very good and I will make it again with a few slight variations. The baking time was about 40 minutes longer than the recipe called for. I stirred the casserole about every half hour as the rice seemed to settle to the bottom and clump. I will probably cut back on the dill weed. It seemed to overwhelm other flavors. I will probably add celery also. This dish has all the food groups except fruit. I enjoyed it enough myself and shared it with others who were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
very good, we switched it up by adding cream of mushroom and extra rice so it would a bit more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gtwin83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is a good basic recipe. I covered my casserole dish with its lid while baking. I also used chopped frozen broccoli (defrosted in the microwave) instead of the canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This recipe is really good, but I gave it 4 stars because of the cream of asparagus soup ingredient. Anything in a can is unhealthy. I think it will be better if you made your own soup of asparagus or broccoli or something else. I also substituted Cheddar cheese for Feta just because I love it (Feta cheese, that is; I recommend authentic Bulgarian one from specialized store) and it is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
all the flavor in this casserole were just wrong. i should've known when the recipe called for dill. it was really awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States