Brown Rice and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
It doesn't say whether to cover this or not, so I didn't. After the suggested baking time, it was still soup and the rice was not done. I would cut the amount of garlic down to 1 clove as well. I probably won't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Suggest longer baking time - add additional 15 to 20 minutes. Great mix of flavors. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is a good basic recipe. I covered my casserole dish with its lid while baking. I also used chopped frozen broccoli (defrosted in the microwave) instead of the canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Just okay. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
all the flavor in this casserole were just wrong. i should've known when the recipe called for dill. it was really awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I thought this was ok...my teenager loved it. I made some changes, first I cut it in half as 12 servings for 2 people was way too much. I used cream of broccoli soup, sauted my chicken breast in some italian dressing, added the 1 glove of garlic along with a tsp of garlic powder. I Had to finish this off in the microwave as it was a bit soupy after the baking time but I think that was because I mistakenly added a bit to much water. I will make this again and play with it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I was a little leery to try this recipe after the bad reviews. So I decided to tweak it and make it my own. I used 2 chicken quarters that I skinned and marinated them in italian dressing overnight. I cooked the chicken at 350 degrees in a casserole dish covered with aluminum foil for 45 minutes. Then I removed the chicken and drained the oil. I cut the recipe in half since I was only cooking for two and I eliminated the dill, garlic, and onion. I layered the rice/ soup mixture on the bottom of the dish and placed the chicken on top. Then I cooked it covered for 30 minutes at 350 degrees, removed the foil, and cooked it uncovered for another 30 minutes. It turned out great and was not soupy at all. The rice was also done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union Grove, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I agree that this is a good basic recipe yet I, too, made some changes. I cooked the rice with 3 cups of chicken broth for about 30 minutes on the stovetop (until all the broth was absorbed). Like WATERGIRL1 I used frozen broccoli (petite florets) instead of the green beans. I also omitted the dill & water. I only added about a cup of milk -- just until the mixture looked slightly creamy. I also saved 1/2 cup of the cheese to sprinkle on top before putting it in the oven. Baked it for 1 hour, it looked and tasted great. My family says it's a "keeper". Thanks, GRLBUG, for a good meal idea using brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I really didn't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was very good and I will make it again with a few slight variations. The baking time was about 40 minutes longer than the recipe called for. I stirred the casserole about every half hour as the rice seemed to settle to the bottom and clump. I will probably cut back on the dill weed. It seemed to overwhelm other flavors. I will probably add celery also. This dish has all the food groups except fruit. I enjoyed it enough myself and shared it with others who were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States