Brown Rice and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I used white rice instead of brown and 16 oz. frozen greens beans instead of canned. I also increased the cheese from 1.5 cups to 2 cups. I found this to be very very bland. I had to add lots of hot sauce and salt to it to give it flavor. I think this i a good base for a recipe, but it needs something else to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
While easy and not too bad, it really isn't something that I would make on a regular basis or to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph MacDougall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Giving 5 stars with the following changes: used 2 cans broccoli cheese soup, approx 3 cups broccoli, 1 cup milk, lemon seasoning salt, 1/2 tsp italian seasoning, 1 1/2 cup low fat cheddar cheese, used more garlic because we prefer more - omitted water, green beans, basil and dill. I cooked the rice in 3 cups of chicken broth about 40 min, til liquid absorbed. Sprinkled lemon pepper on boneless chicken and baked covered until tender. Steamed fresh broccoli. Mixed all together well and baked for about hour. Even my picky 7 year old daughter ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I loved this recipe! My boyfriend who usually doesn't like anything besides meat and potatoes loved it so much he had 3rds. This will become one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very tasty! Quick and easy! I used white rice instead of the brown, and it turned out great! Will definitely make many times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was very good and I will make it again with a few slight variations. The baking time was about 40 minutes longer than the recipe called for. I stirred the casserole about every half hour as the rice seemed to settle to the bottom and clump. I will probably cut back on the dill weed. It seemed to overwhelm other flavors. I will probably add celery also. This dish has all the food groups except fruit. I enjoyed it enough myself and shared it with others who were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I really didn't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I agree that this is a good basic recipe yet I, too, made some changes. I cooked the rice with 3 cups of chicken broth for about 30 minutes on the stovetop (until all the broth was absorbed). Like WATERGIRL1 I used frozen broccoli (petite florets) instead of the green beans. I also omitted the dill & water. I only added about a cup of milk -- just until the mixture looked slightly creamy. I also saved 1/2 cup of the cheese to sprinkle on top before putting it in the oven. Baked it for 1 hour, it looked and tasted great. My family says it's a "keeper". Thanks, GRLBUG, for a good meal idea using brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I was a little leery to try this recipe after the bad reviews. So I decided to tweak it and make it my own. I used 2 chicken quarters that I skinned and marinated them in italian dressing overnight. I cooked the chicken at 350 degrees in a casserole dish covered with aluminum foil for 45 minutes. Then I removed the chicken and drained the oil. I cut the recipe in half since I was only cooking for two and I eliminated the dill, garlic, and onion. I layered the rice/ soup mixture on the bottom of the dish and placed the chicken on top. Then I cooked it covered for 30 minutes at 350 degrees, removed the foil, and cooked it uncovered for another 30 minutes. It turned out great and was not soupy at all. The rice was also done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union Grove, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I thought this was ok...my teenager loved it. I made some changes, first I cut it in half as 12 servings for 2 people was way too much. I used cream of broccoli soup, sauted my chicken breast in some italian dressing, added the 1 glove of garlic along with a tsp of garlic powder. I Had to finish this off in the microwave as it was a bit soupy after the baking time but I think that was because I mistakenly added a bit to much water. I will make this again and play with it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States