Brown Rice and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Excellent just as written. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I modified this recipe quite a bit, so I understand that rating it isn't quite fair - but I wanted to post my modifications if any of you are in the same boat. I didn't realize until I started that the recipe called for instant rice, and all I had was brown basmati. So, I cooked the brown rice in my cooker with less water than called for - so when it was done, it wasn't cooked all the way. Instead of water and boullion in my cooking liquid, I used a can of coconut milk (because it sounded good!). I added asparagus and dropped the raisins (I just couldn't bring myself to add them). Everything cooked wonderfully in the oven for 45 minutes and was delicious. I felt like the dish was missing a little extra sweetness that I like in my curry - but it could have been fixed with a little sugar added to the sauce on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was wonderful, we had it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It was okay. It would have been better with broccoli instead of green beans.(With that change you would use a different soup.)The flavor was okay too. I like dill, maybe some people don't. Some of the ratings baffle me. They made So Many changes, they weren't even making the same casserole. If I make it again, I will change some things. At least give a recipe a chance before you make sweeping changes and give it a bad rating. Maybe your changes are what messed it up. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was really good! I only changed a couple of things that made this easy and take less time. I used success brown rice, one large bag and cut water and milk back to 1 can of each. I sauté the onions in olive oil, than added the soup, water, milk and seasonings to the pan and heated them. After heating I added the rice and poured the sauce over the chicken that I had placed in the bottom of a 13x9 pan sprayed with olive oil. Sprinkled the cheese (which I reduced to about 1/2 cup for health reasons, since I didn't have lowfat cheese.) Baked it for 30 minutes. It was quite nice served with freshed sliced tomatoes! we'll keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This recipe is really good, but I gave it 4 stars because of the cream of asparagus soup ingredient. Anything in a can is unhealthy. I think it will be better if you made your own soup of asparagus or broccoli or something else. I also substituted Cheddar cheese for Feta just because I love it (Feta cheese, that is; I recommend authentic Bulgarian one from specialized store) and it is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
very good, we switched it up by adding cream of mushroom and extra rice so it would a bit more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gtwin83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My family and I definetly dug this one! It seems easaly twikable to personal preferance which I like. The meat lovers didn't know they wern't eating meat either. I had some tomotio sause id made and people seemed to like that on it though I didn't put it on the one bite I had (I was on a juice fast). I think next time ill add a some corn and a little diced purple onion. I also think sour cream and cottage cheese would be a delicious addition to make it more of a mexican lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I used white rice instead of brown and 16 oz. frozen greens beans instead of canned. I also increased the cheese from 1.5 cups to 2 cups. I found this to be very very bland. I had to add lots of hot sauce and salt to it to give it flavor. I think this i a good base for a recipe, but it needs something else to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
While easy and not too bad, it really isn't something that I would make on a regular basis or to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph MacDougall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States