Brown Rice and Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made as is, it's okay. Made with fresh (or frozen/thawed), it's lovely. Good olives make a difference but you don't need many: just cut em up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Mmmmm good! I microwaved fresh collard greens (5min) and used precooked frozen rice medley to cut down cooking time from 2hrs to 10 min. Added fresh parsley, dried basil, dried oregano, frozen corn, frozen peas, black beans, and garbanzo beans. Only used canned tomatoes. Made a simple red wine vinaigrette and added about half cup to salad. Even my husband loves it! Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I loved this dish, the hubs, not so much. I would recommend using fresh veggies, sauteed, can veggies can have so much sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah.Dreier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonne Terre, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Easy to make & not bad...but honestly--didn't thrill me. It was fine, but kind of lame. I added a bit of red pepper flakes & a touch of hot sauce to spice it up, which seemed to help. Even though I'd rate it as "fine," most likely won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Substitude aduki beans, fresh cooked collard greens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
With a few modifications, this turned out great. I served it as a warm dish. I cooked the rice in a rice cooker and then added the other ingredients to the cooker after the rice was done. I used fresh veggies instead of canned and added cumin and coriander to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was great! I didn't have canned collard greens, but I had some fresh greens. So I prepared just enough for the salad. I used some left over white corn, used black and green olives, (Didn't have any green chiles). I already had some left over brown rice, used it and mixed everything together and oh my Lord, this was great! I love collard greens and so does my husband! This came out so great....and then it hit me, I forgot to add the left over black beans and the Italian tomatoes! Not to worry, we had some of the salad left over, I'll add these last two ingredients for lunch and really enjoy! Thank you for this recipe! I must make this for company when I host another dinner party! What a wonderful alternative for many items I like! This salad really rocks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Prepared as is, this would have been very bland. Except for frozen peas, I used all fresh veggies, and I added beet greens. I also used quinoa, and roasted fresh green chiles. Since I didn't use "Italian style" tomatoes, I added a sauteed onion and a clove of garlic, along with plenty of fresh oregano. I ended up adding two more cloves of garlic and 1 tsp cumin, and I thought it could have used another onion. The peas seemed out of place, and I don't think the Italian seasonings work with the veggies--this was much better with the cumin added. It did taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I only used the recipe as a guide but it worked really well so I'm giving 5 stars for the great combination and unique salad idea. My version: 2 cups cooked brown rice, 1 bunch collard greens (steamed for 10 minutes and chopped into bite sized pieces), 2 diced tomatoes, 1 and 1/2 cups thawed frozen corn, 2 thinly sliced carrots, 1 cup pinto beans, 4 oz can sliced black olives, 2 finely minced cloves of garlic, 1 diced cucumber, squeeze of lemon, salt & pepper. As you can see mine is just a slight variation of the original because I wanted to use up all the odds and ends I had lurking around the fridge. Thanks for a great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! Little salt and pepper needed to season. My one change was using frozen peas/corn instead of canned, all else the same and it turned out great. I only made 1/2 the recipe and it still made a large portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States