Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Delicous! A great combination of tastes and textures. I doubled the rice and add a tiny bit of red pepper with the veggies, and separated into two casseroles, one for my non-chicken eating daughter who also won't eat mushrooms - I just split up the veggies before adding the mushrooms and chicken. Both casseroles turned out awesome. I used a mixture of swiss and low-fat cheddar for the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great dish - I loaded it up with veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Made this and it was a huge amount so froze it after we ate on it. When it was thawed in micro....it still tasted fresh and you would never know it was frozen. This is a keeper. Next time add more brocolli and more beans....as a lot of rice in this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
It was an interesting textural combination to have the zucchini, and it's nice to get more veggies in. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was so yummy! It doesn't seem like it would be full of flavour, but it is. I had to make a couple of changes because I did not have certain ingredients. I chopped half of a canned adoboe chile in sauce in place of green chilies (which gives it a bit of a bite!) and I used monterey Jack cheese instead of swiss. The only thing I found was there was not quite enough liquid for the rice, next time I will do in the rice cooker, comes out perfect every time. I will make this again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was great- and very healthy! I took the advice of others and used 1 cup carrots (instead of 1/3), used reduced fat mexican blend cheese, and used 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper (I like things spicy!). And to decrease the prep time- I used microwave brown rice instead of making brown rice with vegetable broth. It was great and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I added a jar of drained artichoke hearts to the mix. Also after the initial baking, I sprinkled the top with shredded Parm. and baked for the final ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fishngriz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I didn't think this was going to be as good as it was! We loved it! I took the advice of previous reviewers and substituted a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilis for the can of green chili peppers and I doubled the rice and broth. Yummy healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
WOW! My family loves this casserole. We made a few adjustments. We don't like the flavor of chiles so I added a half can of diced tomatoes. Also sauted fresh garlic with the onion and added fresh cilantro after baking. It is healthy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
My whole family LOVES this (17months, 6yrs, 8yrs & mom and dad). My take on it: I used fresh spinach, doubled the rice and carrots, used a can of corn instead of zucchini and mushrooms, and used pimentos instead of green chile peppers, lastly I used cheddar instead of swiss. This was scrumptious this way, wowzers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States