Brown Jug Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I thought this was a fabulous soup. I made it pretty much as written, except that for the bouillon cubes I used 4T of bouillon granules, since its package said "1T. = 1 cube". For the frozen veggies, I just weighed out 10 ounces of each from 1-lb. packages. I enjoyed this from start to finish, and was pleased to find that it kept its consistency, albeit a bit thicker, towards the end. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was really good. It's like getting broccoli cheese soup at a dinner. My little 2 year old liked it and my husband really liked it too. A lot of the reviews said it was a bit too salty for them. If your worried about it being too salty, just put the bouillon in last and add too taste. If you use powder bouillon it's easier to add what you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This soup was excellent! After reading the reviews, I was afraid it would be too salty, but didn't have any problems with it. I added a can of chicken with the soup thinking it would make it a little more hearty, but it didn't need it and will skip that next time. I did use the 4 cubes of bullion, but also used a tub of concentrated chicken broth. That may have helped with the flavor. Overall it was excellent, and my entire family loved it. Definitely a "do again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambria, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Wonderful, cheesy, vegetably, when I really needed it! Added a sprinkle of red pepper, and used all the old icky veggies in the fridge. Great recipe! Will make again (and probably again.) Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I thought this was okay. Maybe a little too cheesy for my taste. Then I grabbed some leftover Christmas turkey and threw that in...it made a world of difference! So much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My kiddos (5, 3 and 2) love this soup and so does hubby. I did sautee my onions and celery with one clove of garlic before adding it to the soup. I also added a bay leaf while it simmered. I did not use the broccoli instead I used two 12oz bags of mixed veggies. I would have given it 5 without these changes but for personal preference will do it the same next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Hubby and I really liked this. My kids, not so much, thus the reason for the 4 stars. Was super easy though. Wish my kids would have liked it as I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Will make again, but scaled down a bit for me and hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Delicious soup. Very easy to make. I have never been very good at making soups or gravies. I looked it over, had all of the ingredients and decided to give it a go. Since my wife loves soup, even if it wasn't all that good it would still get eaten. Everybody loved it! This one will go in the comfort food file and be cooked often. Thank you Jackie for such a great recipe. I made this soup again (a week later). Today I did everything as per the directions except I used a head of fresh cauliflower from the farmers vegetable stand. Once again, "souperb". Did not have to add any seasonings or even salt. Thank you Jackie for a perfect creamy cheese based soup that I can do just about anything to without worry of ruining it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
OMG! So good! I shared this recipe with everyone I know! Came out SOOOOOOOOOO good! Perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Flavor was good but it was still a little thin for my taste. I'll reduce the liquid in the beginning and add to it if needed in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States