Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SARAHFLOWERS
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I have made this recipe for years its the only pumpkin pie my family will eat now! One hint- you dont need to whip the egg whites and it turns out the same, very fluffy and raised. I have always used deep dish pie crusts, makes one very full and nice, I dont use any nuts in the crumb topping.. make sure your butter is very chilled before you start using it, also, add 2 tablespoons more flour, seems to absorb and set better. Lastly, I cover the outside of the crust with foil, it bakes so fast with this recipe, can take it off 10 minutes before its done, but I use frozen crusts, so easier and just as good to me. You really cant mess this pie up, my husband even helps make it, its so easy. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHFLOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Fantastic, easy pie to make. When using 9" shallow pie crusts, makes 2 pies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
OMIGOSH!! I started making this last Thanksgiving and it quickly became my signature! My family no longer buys their pumpkin pies and my young cousins will eat the whole thing if left alone! The topping is to DIE FOR!! My husbands family (Portuguese) didn't eat pumpking pie, now they do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This is the BEST! Most recipes that call for canned pumpkin come out kind of squishy when you substitute fresh pumpkin. This didn't. Even my very picky daughter loves it! I reduce the nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon, add 1/8 teaspoon cloves and use peacans instead of walnuts (just cuz I like 'em better). It comes out perfect every time. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Thank you for sharing this delightful recipe. I had enough pumpkin for two pies last night, so I made them. The pie was as light and smooth as can be, and the streusel topping was delicious, too. However, next time I will half the amount of streusel, as I find it to be a little too much for a pie (and it almost overcomes the nice flavor of the pumpkin filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
There aren't enough stars for this pumpkin pie! I followed the recipe exactly and added two teaspoons of vanilla extract. Everyone raved about it! The streusel topping is incredible and the pie itself makes a great presentation. I served it bourbon whipped cream from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I used fresh pumpkin and the results were amazing. It's the best pumpkin pie I've ever had. I did not, however, make the streusel top, and the pie stands on its own just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Made this pie yesterday as a trial run for Thanksgiving - it was delicious. I substituted pecans for the walnuts and chopped very fine (my husband does not like nuts). He loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Oh my lord. This pie is absolutely gorgeous. I had people going up for thirds at our Thanksgiving lunch this weekend. The filling is much lighter than a regular pumpkin pie and the streusal topping just gives it that extra something. Beware though - I found that this recipe made two deep dish pies instead of one. A good job on this occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
What a wonderful recipe! I changed the streusel a little and used my crust recipe and it won best pumpkin pie at the fair. It has a light taste and texture, not to mention how simple it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States