Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I just made two of these today. Easy recipe. For the first pie I followed the original directions of the egg whites and the ingredients was quite high in the pie plate. The second pie I did not whip the egg whites to see if there was a difference and this pie wasn't as high as the first one. Although, after baking, the second pie had risen to the height of the first pie, then as they cooled, they both fell. lso, I forgot to take the foil off the edges but the crust came out fine. And finally, I doubled the topping and it was too much, so I'll take some off. I'm making whipped cream to go with this on the side. I sure would like to know if the pie is supposed to fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I've been making this pie for almost 6 years now and I've never had a complaint. My husband won't let me make a different pumpkin pie now since this is his favorite. I use pecans instead of walnuts since I like them better and I also add a pinch or so of ground cloves for a little extra spice. Such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
two words....SIMPLY AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
i made this exactly as the directions and it is SOOOOO good. it is the best pupkin pie ive had and the streusel gives it a little something extra. the streusel is sweet tho. will def make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this pie today for a sick family friend of mine and I had my mother try a slice before I took it over and she said: 'Make this for our thanksgiving!' I take it was a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Oh.My.God. I used fresh pumpkin (it makes a world of difference). Positively the best pumpkin pie, hands down. I followed the recipe to a T, aside from using fresh pumpkin. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
DELICIOUS!!!! Very easy to put together, an absolute no-brainer! This custard was very light, not heavy like traditional pumpkin pie filling, but had all the traditional flavor. I used graham cracker crust for my pre-Thanksgiving/Christmas test of this recipe and it fits the bill to a T! The only thing I added was a little bit of ground clove and a little vanilla extract. This is my go-to Pumpkin Pie recipe from now on. And the strudel really makes this pie special. For me, this recipe made two shallow (er)graham cracker crust pies. This recipe is to DIE for, forget all the haters that said it was too bland or not sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
My mother in law has me make this every year, she thinks it's the best ever. I think its pretty awesome for pumpkin pie. Will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
OMG soooooo DELICIOUS!!!! You will not regret trying this recipe. I tried this recipe for the first time about 3 years ago and have never rated it until today. I have been making it every Thanksgiving & Christmas since then. Everyone who tries it ends up asking me for the recipe and telling me how delicious it truly was. Thanks to the Brown Family for such a terrific recipe & if you have any other recipes to share...keep them coming!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy A.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My husband LOVED it!! Now he thinks I'm the best baker in the world! Used 16oz of fresh pumpkin instead of canned. Recipe makes two 9" pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States