Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
WOWZA!! This pie was AWESOME! The Sweetened condensed milk made the pumpkin filling decadent but the topping turned the same ole pumpkin pie into a star! I followed the recipe exactly except I used pecans instead of walnuts. I thought for sure that there was going to be too much of the streusel topping but it was just the right amount. If you like a little crunch you are going to love this! This is definitely going to be part of my Thanksgiving every year now! Thanks Brown Family=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have made this for three holiday seasons running to rave reviews. I use pecans rather than walnuts, Trader Joe's pie crust, Libby's pumpkin, and regular sweetened and condensed milk. When I have deviated of these ingredients it hasn't been quite as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was good but I think I prefer a regular pumkin pie to this. Good, but not my favorite thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Best pumpkin pie EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
So good you don't need cool whip!!! I can't eat pumpkin pie without cool whip and this pie is really yummy that you can go with out or add it and make it even more special!! What makes this pie so special is the brown sugar/walnut topping and adding sweetened condensed milk to the pumpkin filling. You can not go wrong with this pie. Make it every year for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have made this pie many many times and its amazing! I always make it exactly as written and it comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Amazing! I was skeptical about the condensed milk, but it's not too sweet. The meringue makes it light and delish! Add 1/4 teaspoon cloves to enhance the holiday spice factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScandoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I just made a test pie for thanksgiving, and wow! Per other suggestions, I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and added spices, including cloves, to taste. Otherwise, I folowed the directions exactly, and my husband, as well as the guys at the deli across the street are quite happy! I can't wait to make it in a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaninaisPeachy
Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Can you make this pie ahead and freeze until Turkey Day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I love this recipe. I made it last year for Thanksgiving and ended up getting so many requests to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States