Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
First time making pumpkin pie from scratch (for whole family for Thanksgiving no less) and this was fantastic!!! My Mom told me it was even better than hers (a huge compliment) and asked me for the recipe :) The only thing i 'changed' was the amount of condensed milk, since the only available can size would have had me using 1.3333 cans...and try to measure that in condensed milk! but it worked out great using only one can! Doubled the recipe to make 2 pies and had a bit leftover which i just made into a couple pumpkin filling muffins. Awesome recipe! thanks so much for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aluminum_chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This pie came out very tasty, even without the streusel topping. The only reason I'm giving this four instead of five stars is that, the pie was very good, but lacked that little something to make it just perfect. I think adding 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves would be the perfect touch to make this a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kashmir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Great recipe! Perfect amount for 1 deep dish pie. I would probably wait 5 or 10 minutes after putting the pie in @ 350 before I put the streusel on because it did get just a bit too brown. Make sure you cover the edges of your pie crust also because those will burn quickly with this recipe! Other than that it was beautiful,easy and delicious! Will make again! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Don't char the streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I didn't have any brown sugar so i left off the topping. But my goodness, this pie needs NOTHING! I used a little more spices than the average joe, but I prefer a very flavorful pie. Even my roommate, who doesn't like pumpkin loved it! It was *almost* too much for a deep-dish pie crust, and the filling's almost an inch higher than the crust but its so light and fluffy that its not overwhelming. Mine did take 20 minutes longer than the suggested 40 minutes and I did have to tent the edges with foil to keep them from burning before the middle was finished, but with results like this who could complain?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
A wonderful pumpkin pie! I used fresh pumpkin puree, as I cannot find the canned here in Thailand. I did NOT add the walnut topping-it was still great. Shall add that special topping for a Thanksgiving treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Htoo
Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
All I can say is wow, yum, loved pumpkin and love it more now! No changes, absolutely a dream for your tastebuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made this pie for a dessert competition and won third prize! The very first pie I have ever made, and it came out great, with such a lovely consistency. I will definately be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very good pumpkin pie! The streusel is beautiful. Followed directions as written and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I love the classic pumpkin pie, but this was still delicious. My like the lighter texture and the spices than my typical pumpkin pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States