Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I don't like pumpkin pie but some of my family does, so i made this for thanksgiving dessert. They enjoyed it! I made recipe as is except ommited the ginger, and added more cinnamon. Also used a frozen deep dish pie crust, and omitted the streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Followed directions exactly and got rave reviews from everyone at Thanksgiving! thanks for a new favorite fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I probably could of cooked this a little longer than it stated, it was a little mushy on the inside but tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kwing10101010
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
It alarmed me that there was no sugar in this pie (it just alarms me in general if there's no sugar in food I'm about to eat), but it turns out the sweetened condensed milk took care of it. This pie didn't taste like a store bought one, but one that was truly home-made. Definitely steal-able from a window sill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwing10101010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
my bad......the recipe called for sweetned cond milk, and I used evap milk! now this will make it very bland :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Beware: the recipe calls for SWEETENED condensed milk. We had regular condensed milk on hand, and used that without adding any sugar, and the pumpkin part came out extremely bland. I would have rated this pie a 1-2 based on our experience, but I guess it wasn't their fault that we didn't use any sugar. The topping was pretty decent but there were a lot of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Perfect as is. I didn't change a thing and it was really delicious. I think this may be a new holiday tradition for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very nice! I grew tired of pumpkin pie several years ago. But when I saw this, I had to try it and I'm glad I did. The topping is excellent and the pumpkin filling is very good. I didn't need whipped cream or ice cream for mine! And my family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was pretty straightforward. This was the first time I whipped egg whites and had them actually whip up firm. I did chill my Kitchen Aid bowl, whip and I kept my egg whites in the fridge until go time. I did add a little ground cloves, a capful of vanilla extract and used pecans instead of walnuts. I don't know what whipping the egg whites does, I did had a fluffy high pie until an hour after bake time. Then, it fell. I might skip that step next time and see if it REALLY makes a difference. This might be really good with a touch of maple flavoring in the pumpkin mixture. I also might take another reviewers advice and add just a little more flour to the topping. This is a very pretty pie and really not all that difficult to make. I'd make this again, with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Made this exactly as it is written! It looks just as beautiful! My family loves it... I chose it mostly because my sister just married a man with the last name Brown so I thought it would be cute to come with this pie's name. SUCCESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States