Brown Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
A good, basic chicken stock. Much less work if you happen to have the carcass of a chicken you have previously roasted (or turkey). It's just a no-brainer to turn the carcass into stock the next day and is very economical. I roast the chicken on a bed of mirepoix (onion, carrot, celery...rough chop), and strain a cup of white wine through the veggies after the chicken is roasted, then make an "au jus" type of pan gravy with the pan drippings. Any of those leftovers can be used to make the stock the next day. Truly, the chicken being roasted beforehand makes ALL the difference in the depth and richness of flavor in the chicken stock. It usually does need to be refrigerated overnight so it can be de-fatted, reheated, then strained through cheesecloth at least 3 times to clarify the broth. Trust me, that step is worth the effort for a clear, golden broth! Then make chicken noodle or turkey rice soup with the stock. Wonderful, warming, healing soup! Definitely ADD FRESH DILL for the finished soup, and I find the juice of one lemon really brightens the flavor, and has an added punch of vitamin C too! Also, don't salt the broth...wait till you assemble the finished soup and taste to see how much salt it needs, if any. Use a light hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a very nice, rich chicken stock. I roasted the vegetables with the bones for more flavour. (plus, I think it's more easier & healthier to toss them all together then have to cook them in oil)Leave the wonderful caramelized juices that are a result of roasting the ingredients on the pan and put the roasting pan on your stove top and add some of the water and scrape any brown bits of chicken or vegetables that may be stuck to the bottom of the pan and mix them into the rest of the water in the stock pot. For the seasonings I made a sachet and adding the ingredients in some cheese cloth that you tie up with a string and discard after. I did use and put 2 bay leaves in the sachet and fresh herbs instead of dried. THX. It's so worth the time saving, collecting and freezing the bones untill I had enough to make this broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe! It made the my dishes rich and yummy! I double the recipe and froze in 1 cup containers and just pull it out as I need it premeasured! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTYBOOPYCDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This stock was excelent - very rish and flavorful. The earlier review misse d the point, I think. This isn't a recipe for soup, it's a recipe for chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I never though of sauteing the veggies for stock but oh boy it made a huge difference. This was the richest stock I've ever made. I had a few left over chicken quarters in the freezer and I picked up chicken backs because they were cheap. This made the BEST stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This soup was very tasty, but the chicken bones were very weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is absolutely the only way to make chicken stock. The browning of the chicken bones first gives this a rich, deep chicken flavor, perfect for any chicken dish needing broth. Use turkey bones tha same way. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is an excellent chicken broth. It's easy to make, and sooo much better than store bought. Plus, it's "all natural." I use it to substitute for oil in a lot of my cooking. It's much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This stock recipe is great...I've used it for turkey stocks over the holidays for gravies as well. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The first review mentioned the bones being "wierd"--this may because they did not strain the "solids."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

How to Brown Chicken or Meat

Learn how to add appetizing color and flavor to roasts, chicken, and ground meat.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States