Brown Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
hum. I did roast the chicken and veggies, as other reviewers suggested, but we weren't fond of the flavor of this chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I roasted everything up together as some users suggested. I put all the veggies on the bottom of my pan, then placed the chicken parts on to so that any drippings would coat the veggies. I added a few extra herbs and spices that were on had like parsley, marjoram and a bay leaf. I never would have thought to roast everything rather than browning but I think I will do this every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Killion

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Ohhhh, this stock was so rich and so good! It was so worth saving the bones over time! (i kept a container in my freezer untill I had the 2 1/2lbs) I think the previous reviewer would of had a better result had she used the bones as called for! You really do need the bones for the stock......Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I had no chicken bones but, I had a left-over chicken on the carcass so, I used that instead. Mine did not turn out as well as the other reviews. The stocke never thickened & it was bland. I'll try again down the road & post my results when I do. There were many people who were very pleased with this recipe so, I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I never though of sauteing the veggies for stock but oh boy it made a huge difference. This was the richest stock I've ever made. I had a few left over chicken quarters in the freezer and I picked up chicken backs because they were cheap. This made the BEST stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this a couuple of days ago. It was very good. I didn't have the boney pieces and the roads were snowy so I used the chicken legs I had in the freezer and cooked a little longer and it was good and brown. I used the chicken pieces with it and made soup. A great winter nights supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Tasty and easy. It took me awhile to save that many bones, it is nice and dark and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is absolutely the only way to make chicken stock. The browning of the chicken bones first gives this a rich, deep chicken flavor, perfect for any chicken dish needing broth. Use turkey bones tha same way. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Great recipe!!!!! VERY good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a very nice, rich chicken stock. I roasted the vegetables with the bones for more flavour. (plus, I think it's more easier & healthier to toss them all together then have to cook them in oil)Leave the wonderful caramelized juices that are a result of roasting the ingredients on the pan and put the roasting pan on your stove top and add some of the water and scrape any brown bits of chicken or vegetables that may be stuck to the bottom of the pan and mix them into the rest of the water in the stock pot. For the seasonings I made a sachet and adding the ingredients in some cheese cloth that you tie up with a string and discard after. I did use and put 2 bay leaves in the sachet and fresh herbs instead of dried. THX. It's so worth the time saving, collecting and freezing the bones untill I had enough to make this broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

How to Brown Chicken or Meat

Learn how to add appetizing color and flavor to roasts, chicken, and ground meat.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States