Brown Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
One of the best stock recipes I've ever made. I used cheap chicken legs I bought for next to nothing. Because I'm extremely low on cash, I used sweet onions, two cups of pre-cut ripple carrot chips (I didn't have regular carrots on hand) and I don't care for basil in my stock so I used bay leaves. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. This will save my behind this week and honestly, kicks the behind of the boxed organic stock I normally buy. No more boxes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Love this recipe. I agree that using the carcass of a previously-roasted chicken will make this much easier to prepare, although the bones from a roast chicken will not have quite the "roasted" flavor that bones roasted while bare would have. Nevertheless, a roast chicken carcass will make adequately-flavorful stock. Oddly, I had never thought of using stock as the base for gravy, and instead only use stock for making soup. I always just take the fresh drippings to make gravy. Having some of this stock on hand would make gravy-making simpler, and would probably result in a smoother, more flavorful gravy. I will try this! For now, I made great chicken noodle soup with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a delicious stock and easy to make. I used a roasted chicken from the deli. I browned all on the stove top but next time I will oven roast. I put all the veges in with the bones. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Great flavour, I've made this twice now I used white onion with the skin on and omitted the parsley and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Good stock. Not a fan of thyme so I replaced it with a few bay leaves I don't roast the bones. I make the stock with a rotisserie chicken carcass after I've picked off the meat & saved for later to add to the soup. I throw the bones & the skin in the pot & strain it well when it's done. The rotisserie chicken gives it a more robust flavor. If you're worried about little chx bones remaining in the soup, wrap the carcass in cheese cloth & tie it tight with string. Try it you'll like it. I do saute the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent step by step guide. I did read some of the reviews and I roasted the veg with the chicken carcass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is a great basic stock, and versatile to alter some to what you have on hand. I cut the salt back some on mine(personal preference I suppose). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I will never buy canned stock again. This may take some extra time, but by making it in large batches and freezing in small portions, you only have to do it every few months. And the taste is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Absolutely fab !! My sister can't have MSG, and every last stock nor base you can buy has it, even if it says it doesn't. MSG hides under many names....just look it up !! This made about a gallon..plenty for all my thanksgiving gravies & soup after. Thanks so much !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
A good, basic chicken stock. Much less work if you happen to have the carcass of a chicken you have previously roasted (or turkey). It's just a no-brainer to turn the carcass into stock the next day and is very economical. I roast the chicken on a bed of mirepoix (onion, carrot, celery...rough chop), and strain a cup of white wine through the veggies after the chicken is roasted, then make an "au jus" type of pan gravy with the pan drippings. Any of those leftovers can be used to make the stock the next day. Truly, the chicken being roasted beforehand makes ALL the difference in the depth and richness of flavor in the chicken stock. It usually does need to be refrigerated overnight so it can be de-fatted, reheated, then strained through cheesecloth at least 3 times to clarify the broth. Trust me, that step is worth the effort for a clear, golden broth! Then make chicken noodle or turkey rice soup with the stock. Wonderful, warming, healing soup! Definitely ADD FRESH DILL for the finished soup, and I find the juice of one lemon really brightens the flavor, and has an added punch of vitamin C too! Also, don't salt the broth...wait till you assemble the finished soup and taste to see how much salt it needs, if any. Use a light hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

How to Brown Chicken or Meat

Learn how to add appetizing color and flavor to roasts, chicken, and ground meat.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States