Brown Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This recipe is no-nonsense and delicious. I had an uncooked chicken back, and it was perfect to use here. As the author directs, roasting the bones is paramount for that rich brown depth. I roasted the back and a few other scraps I had saved, and then used every bit in the stock including the drippings. I did not have 2.5 lbs of scraps, but I simmered everything longer and crossed my fingers. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Awesome! I make this every time I have chicken bones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I tried it using left over turkey bones and I now use this recipe as a base for my turkey noodle soup and much more (collards etc). It's a winner every time... This recipe is well worth the time spent and a great staple in our home for the winter months. Signed, a thankful home-cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecofer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe that needs some minor changes .Omitt basil , use bay leaf instead (its milder), go easy on the salt as if you do a reduction, it will make it too salty. I would also deglaze pan with white wine if you have it. Use cold water and let bones cool down before putting everything in pan. This will help with all the marrow to release in the stock pot, which adds to the flavor & stock !Put herbs in cheese cloth. All in all a great recipe! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
very tasty. i was surprised that it didn't congeal in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I loved the Roasted Vegetable Stock from this site, so when it came time to replenish my chicken stock supply I followed this recipe. Ususally for stock I throw in whatever I have on hand, but I ended up following this recipe exactly, using two small chicken carcasses as well as some chicken wing "tips" I had discarded after making chicken wings. Only addition was to add two bay leaves. Roasting the bones gave it such amazing flavor. Tastes way better than any storebought stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My favorite store had a coupon for buy a rotisserie chicken, get another half-off, so I used those bones to roast. I'd kept a gallon ziplock bag of veggie stems and scraps, and last time I made veggie stock, I never used it, so I decided to add all those veggies to the bottom of a rimmed cookie sheet and put the bones on top. It's roasting now and the house smells fantastic! I'll freeze in 1-cup portions like a previous reviewer suggested and use to make rice, soups, and gravies. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe turned out amazing! I made it by the recipe (except I used yellow instead of red onions). The stock was absolutely flavorful, rich, and made a lot! I had to save for a while to collect enough chicken bones, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I used some chicken necks and meaty bones I'd previously frozen for use to make a stock. If you want a "clear" stock, I recommend bundling the herbs and spices in cheesecloth. Mine didn't get thick, however it was quite jelly-like when refrigerated so maybe that's what the submitter meant. It does have a rich brown colour. I did roast the veggies along with the chicken bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This stock is amazing but the thing that makes it differant and superior to other stocks is roasting the bones bare if you skip this step it will still be good but never live up to its potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

How to Brown Chicken or Meat

Learn how to add appetizing color and flavor to roasts, chicken, and ground meat.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States