Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This is very much like my grandmothers recipe- and we do it the same way, in cans, set in a large stock pot. The BEST thing to eat with baked beans! The PSPS wife
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
excellent! I cut the recipe in half & used 2 cranberry sauce cans since there are only 2 of us..... covered each can with foil & secured with an elastic & steamed for 55 mins..... perfect! Don't forget to grease the cans. thanks, Michele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Frates

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very nice bread will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Just like on the farm, fast easy and tasty will agree best with baked beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This turned out great. I was shocked when my 13 yr old asked where the leftovers were the next day. I did half the recipe and used 2 chicken broth cans. I also used a veggie steamer until set (about 50 minutes). AWESOME with Baked Beans. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe, moist and delicious! I added a cup of raisins to mine. Fantastic with hot dogs and baked beans as a Saturday night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I finally figured out how I could make this without the cans. I used a large round Pyrex bowl. I wasn't sure it was done because the middle looked wet and shiny but it wasn't sticky so I removed it from the steamer. This is rich, moist, dense and sweet. The corn meal gives a nice texture. I did not think it would come out of my bowl even though I greased it, but I tried turning over on a tray and it came out nicely. This is a little sweeter than I was hoping but absolutely delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this bread today and it was great! I searched for this recipe because my father-in-law been talking about it and how he would like to have it again. Growing up we could purchase it at any store, not today. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sadieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My kids loved this bread and it is a general family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rodger Jennings
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I didn't have any whole wheat flour so I used 1 and a half cups all purpose and 1/2 cup rolled oats. I boiled the oats and corn meal before adding other ingredients to soften them up a bit. Makes a very delicious open faced peanut butter sandwich. Also I used a double boiler not the cans--still very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodger Jennings

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States