Brown Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a great and simple recipe. My mom used to make it better than I can, thanks for posting it! I made this with the left over ham bone from Christmas dinner and it turned out great. Cornbread on the side is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I didn't have a ham hock, so I used ham broth that I had frozen from my Christmas ham with added water to cover the beans and added pieces of a fried pork chop. Didn't need any salt. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great - just like my grandma used to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I soaked mine overnight but put everything in the crockpot on low all day long (10 hours). I used a ham bone from a potluck from work I had put in the freezer. I added a little more garlic and onion (plus onion and garlic powders) and let it run. We served this soup with tortillas and it was a huge hit with all three kids (plus us adults). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These were so yummy! I only added 6 cups of chicken broth and replaced the last two with water and I'm glad I did. I think 8 cups would have been too much. Mine only took about 3 hours to cook. Maybe just a tad salty so be careful with adding additional salt. Served with real southern cornbread from this website and it was a wonderful meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The whole family thought it was great. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I cooked these in the crock pot all day and they were delicious. I loved using the chicken stock to cook them. It gave them a little more taste than just water. To thicken them up a bit, I added a little cornstarch mixed with water about 5 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is a great dish. Add a tablespoon of garlic powder or dried ground garlic in step 2. We also serve it with medudo mix spices on the side for those who wish to spice it up a bit. Warmed corn tortillas are also good for an alternative to cornbread. This meal will leave you in a feeling of euphoria, and you will want to take a nice nap afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
My folks made this 60 year ago. The ham bone is the real plus as it cooks. They added onion, celery and carrots. It is magnificent fresh and re-heated. Bread and butter on the side and lots of tobasco and seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These were delicious; great comfort food. Not sure if I misread the recipe: I interpreted the ham hock quantity as one and three quarters pounds of ham hock (that was 3 pieces in the package I got). That made it a little salty, though not inedible by any means. I think in the future I'll either go with one hock or increase the quantity of beans, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William J. Hershey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States