Brown Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
My folks made this 60 year ago. The ham bone is the real plus as it cooks. They added onion, celery and carrots. It is magnificent fresh and re-heated. Bread and butter on the side and lots of tobasco and seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Brown Beans aka Pinto Beans They have been around here in the south from the beginning. A more healthy approach to cooking them is simply add olive oil. Cook in a slow cooker all day.I use to add fat back, or ham bones there isn't any need. Beans,freshly chopped onions on top with a hunk of corn bread. You've got dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I soaked mine overnight but put everything in the crockpot on low all day long (10 hours). I used a ham bone from a potluck from work I had put in the freezer. I added a little more garlic and onion (plus onion and garlic powders) and let it run. We served this soup with tortillas and it was a huge hit with all three kids (plus us adults). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is a great dish. Add a tablespoon of garlic powder or dried ground garlic in step 2. We also serve it with medudo mix spices on the side for those who wish to spice it up a bit. Warmed corn tortillas are also good for an alternative to cornbread. This meal will leave you in a feeling of euphoria, and you will want to take a nice nap afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Very good. Just like mom used to make. Added 3 cloves garlic and cooked for 10 hr on low in crock pot. I did not have low-sodium broth. It definitely had enough saltiness. Next time I will omit the 1/2 t salt in soaking unless I have low sodium broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These were so yummy! I only added 6 cups of chicken broth and replaced the last two with water and I'm glad I did. I think 8 cups would have been too much. Mine only took about 3 hours to cook. Maybe just a tad salty so be careful with adding additional salt. Served with real southern cornbread from this website and it was a wonderful meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was amazing..... I did change some things... be sure to read reviews... I added garlic powder, small chopped onion and 6 cups broth & 2 cups water. Added a touch of seasoned salt, paprika, chili seasoning....etc on the spices. I cooked mine in a slow cooker on high for 4 to 5 hours then switched into a pan then let it simmer on the stove for another hour on med-high uncovered to let it thicken. Will be making again VERY SOON! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlzfish2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a great and simple recipe. My mom used to make it better than I can, thanks for posting it! I made this with the left over ham bone from Christmas dinner and it turned out great. Cornbread on the side is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Pretty good! I think I used too much salt though, for my taste anyway, so if you are not a salt lover I would recommend cutting that down a bit. Otherwise, this was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Blacketer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The whole family thought it was great. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States