Brown Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I cooked these in the crock pot all day and they were delicious. I loved using the chicken stock to cook them. It gave them a little more taste than just water. To thicken them up a bit, I added a little cornstarch mixed with water about 5 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I didn't have a ham hock, so I used ham broth that I had frozen from my Christmas ham with added water to cover the beans and added pieces of a fried pork chop. Didn't need any salt. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The whole family thought it was great. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Very good. Just like mom used to make. Added 3 cloves garlic and cooked for 10 hr on low in crock pot. I did not have low-sodium broth. It definitely had enough saltiness. Next time I will omit the 1/2 t salt in soaking unless I have low sodium broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These were delicious; great comfort food. Not sure if I misread the recipe: I interpreted the ham hock quantity as one and three quarters pounds of ham hock (that was 3 pieces in the package I got). That made it a little salty, though not inedible by any means. I think in the future I'll either go with one hock or increase the quantity of beans, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainrider

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These were so yummy! I only added 6 cups of chicken broth and replaced the last two with water and I'm glad I did. I think 8 cups would have been too much. Mine only took about 3 hours to cook. Maybe just a tad salty so be careful with adding additional salt. Served with real southern cornbread from this website and it was a wonderful meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was amazing..... I did change some things... be sure to read reviews... I added garlic powder, small chopped onion and 6 cups broth & 2 cups water. Added a touch of seasoned salt, paprika, chili seasoning....etc on the spices. I cooked mine in a slow cooker on high for 4 to 5 hours then switched into a pan then let it simmer on the stove for another hour on med-high uncovered to let it thicken. Will be making again VERY SOON! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlzfish2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I soaked mine overnight but put everything in the crockpot on low all day long (10 hours). I used a ham bone from a potluck from work I had put in the freezer. I added a little more garlic and onion (plus onion and garlic powders) and let it run. We served this soup with tortillas and it was a huge hit with all three kids (plus us adults). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great - just like my grandma used to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a great and simple recipe. My mom used to make it better than I can, thanks for posting it! I made this with the left over ham bone from Christmas dinner and it turned out great. Cornbread on the side is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States