Brown Bean Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I have been looking for this recipe for many years. I was also one of those kids that grew up enjoying this along with the cinnamon rolls. Went to Robertson Elementary everyone I went to school with still talks about the bean chowder and how good it was! Thanks so much for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Tasted great, but I would NOT recommend putting in the bread crumbs at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was good and easy, if not particularly complex (as you'd expect for a school cafeteria dish, I guess!). It was mild enough that my three-year-old ate some voluntarily. I used 99% lean turkey, whole wheat bread crumbs and cooked for 20 mins or so after mixing it all together to blend the flavors a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was cheap and fairly easy. I thought it was a decent base recipes, but it needed some spice. The whole thing took a long time from start to finish. I was left thinking that the flavor wasn't that good. Something to do with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milosmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Thanks for posting! My grandmother used to make this. She got the recipe from the Tulsa World when her son (my uncle) was in school. He used to love TPS bean chowder so when they posted the recipe in the paper, she jumped on it. Of course she had to reduce the quantities by a lot since it was the actual school recipe. So glad to have found it agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was good. My family ate it and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I like this recipe, but I altered a few things. I did not use bread crumbs, and instead of tomatoe perre I used V8 juice. I also add two cups of watter after the beans were tender an d 1 cup of white rice. It didn't come out soupy or chowdery, it was more like a thick chili. It was amazing and my husband is begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I'm not from Tulsa so I'd never had it before, but even my picky non-bean-eating teenager gobbled it up. My only suggestion is to add a little hot sauce to the bowl when serving. This is going into the rotation folder. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIALEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
reduced salt by 1 tsp and added 3/4 tsp Worcestershire sauce. It really brought out the flavors. Also used 4 slices of bread to make fresh breadcrumbs instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States