Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
With changes this is a 5 star recipe! My husband is a German citizen, and we go there often for extended vacations, we always miss the bread when we get back. We have tried dozens and dozens of times to bake brotchen rolls, one weekend we made over a half dozen recipes, this was the best one of all the recipes we tried but we made *Several* changes to get the flavor we wanted. We only bake this kind of bread on a stone if possible. We also added about a tsp of salt, and increased the sugar to about 2 tbsp. Don't use water, but use whole milk instead. Make the rolls bigger, only 8 not 12. The second time they rise, don't cover them with anything. Finally about the actual baking. Place a tray of ice cubes on the bottom of the oven to create a nice steam in the oven, and only cook these on the bottom rack. Follow this method and it will be the closest you will get to real brotchen without going to Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I will agree with the others, that it needs salt. However, it is missing a more important ingredient, I believe. In the 1960s, I lived with my parents, who were stationed in Baumholder, Germany, and we loved the fresh breads that were sold in the village. However, there were two types of Brötchen:water and milk. The milk Brötchen was so much better, and we quickly quit buying the water Brötchen, in favour of the milk Brötchen. I suggest that the water be replaced with whole milk, or half/half. You will clearly notice a Huge difference here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I wish I had read the previous reviews before starting - this definitely could have used a pinch of salt, as the others noted. But it was extremely easy (the FIRST successful thing I've made with yeast, I'm only 21 and haven't baked all that much). I immediately baked half the recipe, but first I mixed it with small-cubed cheddar cheese, tiny chopped onions, and fresh garlic. I sprinkled the top with a little extra cheese. They came out wonderfully! Wow! I took the other half and, as instructed in the page with general info about rolls, froze them in roll shape before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
These rolls have a wonderful chewy texture. They were very simple to make. The flavor is a bit bland, however. Next time I'm going to add a bit of salt. But there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
My daughter and niece both loved these rolls. The adults in the family thought it needed some salt. It was easy to add, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
These rolls are good, but are NOT brotchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I'm glad I read over the reviews before making this. Using 1 tsp of salt really brought out a good flavor to the bread. I used water, but will try it with milk for comparison the next time I make it. I am a beginner when it comes to baking but I found this recipe extremely simple and quite forgiving! While making the dough I was worried that it was too dry and added a little bit of water. It ended up making the dough wetter than I wanted. Lucky for me, using some of the reserved 1/2 cup of bread flour while kneading fixed it right up again. Maybe it was because of my earlier fudge-up, but I ended up kneading the dough a little bit longer, about 10-15 mins. to get that good, squishy elasticity. Instead of making 12 small rolls, I also made 8 slightly bigger rolls so I could use it to make sandwiches. In an end rush I forgot to separate my egg white and used the whole egg with some water to make the wash.. No biggie though. I baked them on a stone for 20 minutes until beautifully golden brown. After cooling they came out really soft and chewy. I used them tonight to make buffalo chicken sandwiches and honey mustard chicken sandwiches. Both got rave reviews! This will definitely be one of my go-to recipes. Thank you so very much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GREENMANOK
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Has a great crust, crispy without being tough, nice and soft on the inside, but *desperately* needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
These were Very Good. I did add a pinch of salt (per other reviewers) and I am really glad that I did. Will definately make again. Looks great for company. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Definitely needs salt. Doubled so I could make long rolls for sandwiches; used almost 5 cups flour, not quite. Taste was good, except for needing salt, texture inside was great. However, outside came out too crispy, maybe it was the egg wash, I'm not sure. Will try with salt and no wash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States